How many Shrines are there in Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Ishan Vashishth
zelda breath of the wild

In the vast and enchanting world of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Shrines stand as a cornerstone of exploration and adventure. Players around the globe have spent countless hours uncovering these mystical locations. But just how many Shrines are there in this critically acclaimed title? 

Shrines in Breath of the Wild are more than mere checkpoints or landmarks; they are intricate puzzles, each presenting a unique challenge. These mini-dungeons scattered across Hyrule play a crucial role in Link’s journey, offering both rewards and a deep sense of achievement upon completion. 

Shrines are a fundamental aspect of the game that greatly enhances the overall experience. So, let’s delve into the specifics and uncover just how many Shrines Breath of the Wild has in store.

How Many Shrines Are There in Zelda: Breath of the Wild?

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild boasts a staggering 120 Shrines for players to discover. These Shrines are spread across the diverse landscapes of Hyrule, each nestled in unique locations ranging from towering mountains to hidden valleys. 

Finding and completing these Shrines is a core part of the gameplay, offering both challenge and reward.

In addition to the main 120 Shrines, the game’s DLCs, The Master Trials, and The Champions’ Ballad, introduce even more Shrines. These extra Shrines not only extend the gameplay but also contribute to the backstory and lore of Hyrule, enriching the overall narrative of Breath of the Wild.

What are Shrines in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild?

Shrines serve multiple purposes in Breath of the Wild. Primarily, they are puzzle-filled mini-dungeons, each with a distinct theme or challenge. Solving these puzzles not only provides a sense of accomplishment but also rewards players with Spirit Orbs. These Orbs are crucial for enhancing Link’s abilities, allowing players to exchange them for increased health or stamina.

Moreover, Shrines act as fast travel points, significantly aiding in navigation across the vast world of Hyrule. This feature becomes invaluable as players progress through the game, saving time and allowing for exploring previously visited areas quickly.

The diversity of the Shrines is also noteworthy. Some are combat-focused, pitting Link against formidable foes, while others are centered around environmental puzzles and clever use of the game’s physics. This variety ensures that each Shrine offers a fresh experience, keeping players engaged and curious.

In conclusion, the 120 Shrines in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild are a core component of what makes the game a masterpiece of exploration and adventure. They challenge players, reward them, and facilitate exploration in a world brimming with mystery and beauty. 

For some useful guide content for the new release Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom, check out a bunch of our guides:

The best way to make Rupees in Tears of the Kingdom | Who is Ganondorf? Villain explained | How to pass the time | Sky Islands map in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom | All Geoglyph locations | Do weapons still break in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom? | All Great Fairy Fountain locations | All Skyview Tower locations | How to get Zelda’s Golden Horse | Best place to farm Zonaite | How to increase your inventory slots in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom | Bubbal Gem locations | Bargainer Statue locations | How to get Phantom Armor set | Where to get the Steering Wheel | How to respec Heart Containers and Stamina Vessels in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom | How to get Autobuild | How to get Hylian Shield