When does Star Wars Jedi: Survivor take place? Timeline explained

Andrew Highton
star wars jedi survivor enemy sat at a tableEA

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is the next chapter taking place in the Star Wars Jedi saga, but when is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor set, and what’s its timeline in relation to the previous entry, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order?

It’s no secret that the Star Wars timeline is relatively complicated, but, thanks to dedicated fans, we do have a definitive timeline complete with nearly five decades of content. Now, with Star Wars Jedi: Survivor coming into the popular franchise, those fans are looking to see where the game fits in with its predecessor, Fallen Order.

Article continues after ad

Thanks to various trailers, we see a rather grown-up Cal Kestis, highlighting it’s a while on from Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order – but how long has it been between the two? Let’s find out everything we know about the game’s timeline.

Where is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor in the Star Wars timeline?

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is confirmed to take place in 9 BBY and is set around the time of the Obi-Wan TV series.

The complete Star Wars timeline is measured using BBY (Before the Battle of Yavin) and ABY (After the Battle of Yavin) with the Battle of Yavin being the climactic Death Star tussle at the end of Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope.

Article continues after ad

The fight is seen as a defining moment in the history of the Star Wars universe and is therefore used as the key event that determines how long before or after other events take place.

How long is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor set after Fallen Order?

It’s been confirmed that Star Wars Jedi: Survivor’s timeline will take place a full five years after the original game – meaning that Fallen Order took place in 14 BBY.

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech

So a lot has happened between Cal’s training years and his current position as a bonafide leader and savior.

Article continues after ad

Footage of the game has concentrated a lot on Cal’s new abilities and the title’s gameplay improvements and tasty combat mechanics. We’ve also been privy to some of the main hostile forces that Cal will come toe-to-toe with in the game too.

Players who enjoyed Fallen Order will be pleased to see some returning faces, which shows that some characters have been able to survive, but the implication is that during the course of those five years, the resistance and Jedi forces have dwindled.

Article continues after ad

That’s all we know about Star Wars Jedi: Survivor and its timeline, for the time being, so keep checking in for new information.

There are more guides for you to check out below covering a range of topics about the game:

How gardening works in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | All lightsaber colors in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | How to open the door to Vashtan Wolfe in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | How to increase health & force in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | How to disable fall damage in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | Star Wars Jedi Survivor: How to beat Rancor | Star Wars Jedi: Survivor – Holotactics guide | What does the Mysterious Key do in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor? | How to get a red lightsaber in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | Best stances in Star Wars Jedi Survivor | Fastest ways to earn XP in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor | Where to find Priorite Shards in Star Wars Jedi

Article continues after ad

About The Author

Andrew Highton is a Games Writer for Dexerto. He has a Creative Writing degree from Liverpool John Moores University and has previously written for games websites such as Twinfinite and Keengamer. With 13,000+ PlayStation Trophies to his name, Andrew is a fan of a huge variety of video games, his favourites being God of War and Metal Gear Solid. Contact him at andrew.highton@dexerto.com, on Twitter @AndyHighton8 or at www.linkedin.com/in/andrew-highton.