How many Acts does Diablo 4 have?

Sourav Banik
diablo 4 how many acts

Diablo 4’s campaign is split into multiple Acts, which divide the story around when the hero enters a new region. If you’re curious as to how many acts there are in Diablo 4, our guide has everything you need to know.

Diablo 4 has its campaign divided into different Acts, similar to Diablo 2 and 3. While the earlier titles had four Acts each, with a fifth added later in expansions, Diablo 4 achieves this slightly differently.

Diablo 4 is much more of an open-world game than its predecessors, so rather than being warped to a new biome and region after completing an Act, you’ll need to travel there yourself across the world map.

Here’s a rundown of all the Acts in the game along with how long each one is, as well as if you need to play each of these Acts in order or not.


diablo 4 beta patch notes
Diablo 4 gives players complete freedom in terms of exploration with a non-linear storyline.

How many Acts are in Diablo 4?

The story of Diablo 4 includes six Acts in total, along with a Prologue and Epilogue. This is a couple more than what we’ve seen in previous titles like Diablo 2 and 3, where the number of acts was limited to four plus an expansion Act.

All Diablo 4 Acts in order

Here are all the Diablo 4 Acts in order:

  1. Prologue: Wandering
  2. Act 1: A Cold and Iron Faith
  3. Act 2: The Knife Twists Again
  4. Act 3: The Making of Monsters
  5. Act 4: A Gathering Storm
  6. Act 5: Secrets Bartered, Fates Sold
  7. Act 6: Dance of the Makers
  8. Epilogue: From the Wound Spilled

As we mentioned earlier, the breakdown of the story into these acts makes it easier to follow.

Not all Acts are of equal length in the game. Some of them are quite long while others end up on the shorter side.

lilith and elias from diablo 4
Acts in this game vary in length.

Do you need to play the Diablo 4 acts in order?

Yes and no, you can start Acts 1, 2, and 3 from the very beginning of the game, as each of them is separated by region and follows a different set of characters.

This also allows you to engage in side quests and world events at your leisure. Remember, the game levels with you, so spend as long or as little time as you like completing optional content.

You’ll need to have the first 3 Acts completed to begin the much shorter Act 4. Then you need to complete Acts 5 and 6 in order.

So, there you have it — that’s everything you need to know about the Acts in Diablo 4. If you want to know about more class builds and the game in general, be sure to check our other guides and content:

Diablo 4 Review | Diablo 4: Best way to make money | Diablo 4: Fastest ways to get XP & level up | How to Transmog gear in Diablo 4: Armor, weapons & more | Does Diablo 4 feature followers or mercenaries to hire? | Diablo 4 couch co-op explained: | When is Diablo 4 Season 1? Possible start date, theme, & rewards | How to play Diablo 4 Early Access: Dates, times & how to preload | What is Diablo 4 Hardcore mode? | How to get a mount in Diablo 4 | Diablo 4: How to upgrade your healing potion | How to swap weapons in Diablo 4 | Diablo 4: World Tiers explained | How to use emotes in Diablo 4

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech