Diablo 4: World Tiers explained

Diablo 4 fightingBlizzard

Diablo 4’s World Tiers is a useful system designed to catapult your dungeon-looting experience to new heights. It’s a dynamic system that cranks the intensity of your adventure up a notch, redefining the parameters of gaming as we know it.

In a game that has become synonymous with mobs, magic, and massive amounts of loot, with its unforgiving dungeons and fearsome demons, Diablo 4’s World Tiers is set to send give players something to think about.

Article continues after ad

The first thing to understand about Diablo 4’s features is the World Tier mechanic. It’s a unique twist that deviates from the traditional difficulty levels of other games. It will affect your loot, enemies, and many other variables, and has a significant bearing on how your adventure will play out.


world tiers in diablo 4Blizzard Entertainment

How do Diablo 4 World Tiers work?

The Diablo 4 World Tiers system allows players to select which difficulty level they want to play on and the chosen level will grant different rewards — such as more Gold and XP.

Article continues after ad

Higher World Tiers offer better loot drops, ensuring the effort you put into tackling tougher enemies does not go unrewarded. This way, the World Tiers system marries challenge and reward in a balanced way, ensuring the gameplay remains engaging and rewarding.

You’ll begin with the first two World Tiers already unlocked, but to enter Nightmare and beyond you’ll need to unlock them by completing a Capstone Dungeon and reaching at least level 50.

Be aware, that the game levels with you, so enemies will always be at a similar level to you and other players in your session

Article continues after ad

All Diablo 4 World Tiers

In total, there are four different World Tiers to choose from in Diablo 4. To make this nice and straightforward, here’s a list of every single one:

  • World Tier 1: Adventurer
  • World Tier 2: Veteran
  • World Tier 3: Nightmare
  • World Tier 4: Torment

As you grow stronger and more experienced, keep pushing through higher World Tiers to obtain better rewards. But remember, it’s also important to know when to drop down a tier if the challenge becomes too overwhelming.

The World Tiers system encourages a balance between taking on a challenge and maintaining an enjoyable gameplay experience. If you find Torment too easy, you can always try Hardcore mode.

Article continues after ad

How to change Diablo 4 World Tier difficulty

Diablo 4 world tier statueBlizzard
You can find the World Tier Statues in all major cities.

There are two ways to change your World Tier in Diablo 4. The first is to change the World Tier from the main menu. Simply select the ‘Change World Tier’ button on the right-hand side and click your chosen difficulty.

The second way is to head to a World Tier Statue in any major city inside Sanctuary. This is a statue of the angel Inarius who is worshipped like a god in Sanctuary. When you get there, you’ll be able to select a new world tier, which will instantly load.

Article continues after ad

Choose wisely though, as some tiers can be pretty tricky!

World Tiers are a critical component of Diablo 4, and now that you know how they will influence your game, you can check out more of our handy guides:

Diablo 4 Review | Diablo 4: Best way to make money | Diablo 4: Fastest ways to get XP & level up | How to Transmog gear in Diablo 4: Armor, weapons & more | Does Diablo 4 feature followers or mercenaries to hire? | Diablo 4 couch co-op explained: | When is Diablo 4 Season 1? Possible start date, theme, & rewards | How to play Diablo 4 Early Access: Dates, times & how to preload | What is Diablo 4 Hardcore mode? | How to get a mount in Diablo 4 | Diablo 4: How to upgrade your healing potion | How to swap weapons in Diablo 4 | Diablo 4: World Tiers explained | How to use emotes in Diablo 4

Article continues after ad

Related Topics