Squid Game The Challenge release schedule: Dates, episodes & more

Daisy Phillipson
Still from Squid Game: The Challenge on NetflixNetflix

With Squid Game: The Challenge nearing its epic conclusion on Netflix, here’s your guide to its release schedule, including dates and times for the episode batches.

“Doing something is always more fun than just watching” – except when it comes to Squid Game. The Korean survival drama enjoyed worldwide acclaim when it arrived in 2021, and for good reason – its intense narrative that combines traditional children’s games with life-and-death stakes made for a thrilling watch.

Article continues after ad

But besides the barbarity, there was a deeply poetic side to the show, both with its interactions between the well-written characters to the anti-capitalist allegory weaved into the narrative. Deep and meaningful messages aside, you might be wondering: what would happen if Squid Game were real? 

Enter Squid Game: The Challenge, a Netflix game show that pits 456 contestants against each other for a $4.56 million prize. The key difference is: there’s no death involved in this version. 

Article continues after ad

How many episodes of Squid Game: The Challenge are there?

There are ten episodes of Squid Game: The Challenge in total. 

Like other reality shows like Too Hot to Handle, The Circle, and Physical 100, the episodes are released in batches rather than all in one go. 

Squid Game: The Challenge release schedule

You can find the release schedule for Squid Game: The Challenge below: 

  • Batch 1, 5 Episodes: November 22
  • Batch 2, 4 Episodes: November 29
  • Batch 3, 1 Episode: December 6

In terms of what time new episodes of Squid Game: The Challenge will be available to watch on Netflix, it depends on your location – so, here’s a rundown of times for each timezone so you know when you can dive in:

Article continues after ad
  • 12am PDT
  • 3am EDT
  • 5am Brazil
  • 8am UK
  • 9am CET
  • 1:30pm India Standard Time
  • 7pm Australia
  • 9pm New Zealand

However, there’s been a slight change to the time the finale will drop so that US viewers can watch it live. So, here’s what time the last episode of Squid Game: The Challenge arrives:

  • 6pm PT – December 6
  • 9pm ET – December 6
  • 11pm Brazil – December 6
  • 2am UK – December 7
  • 4am CEST – December 7
  • 7:30am India Standard Time – December 7
  • 1pm Australia – December 7
  • 3pm New Zealand – December 7

Squid Game: The Challenge episode titles

The episode titles, which should give you an indication as to some of the games that are included, are as follows:

  • Episode 1: ‘Red Light, Green Light’
  • Episode 2: ‘The Man with the Umbrella’
  • Episode 3: ‘War’
  • Episode 4: ‘Nowhere to Hide’
  • Episode 5: ‘Trick or Treat’
  • Episode 6: ‘Goodbye’
  • Episode 7: ‘Friend or Foe’
  • Episode 8: ‘One Step Closer’
  • Episode 9: ‘Circle of Trust’
  • Episode 10: ‘One Lucky Day’

The official synopsis for Squid Game: The Challenge reads, “456 real players will enter the competition show in pursuit of a life-changing reward of USD $4.56 million. As they compete through a series of games inspired by the original show – plus surprising new additions – their strategies, alliances, and character will be put to the test while competitors are eliminated around them.”

Article continues after ad

Squid Game: The Challenge Episodes 1-9 are available to stream on Netflix now, with the finale dropping on December 6. You can check out our other coverage below:

Related Topics

About The Author

Daisy is a Senior TV and Movies Writer at Dexerto. She's a lover of all things macabre, whether that be horror, crime, psychological thrillers or all of the above. After graduating with a Masters in Magazine Journalism, she's gone on to write for Digital Spy, LADbible and Little White Lies. You can contact her on daisy.phillipson@dexerto.com