Is World of Warcraft down? WoW Server status & maintenance monitoring - Dexerto
World of Warcraft

Is World of Warcraft down? WoW Server status & maintenance monitoring

Published: 12/May/2022 11:13 Updated: 12/May/2022 11:14

by Lauren Bergin

Share


Is World of Warcraft down? Here’s a rundown of the current server status in North America and Europe, as well as whether or not Blizzard have any maintenance scheduled for WoW.

Picture the scene: you’ve finished work/school/university, you’re all cozied up in front of your PC about to dive into World of Warcraft – but you can’t get in. It’s happened to us all, don’t worry.

Server outages are usually a result of two different things: something malfunctioning on Blizzard‘s end, or planned maintenance to introduce new hotfixes or patches.

Is World of Warcraft down right now, though? Here’s a rundown of everything we know about WoW’s server status and upcoming maintenance to save you punching your monitor.

Advertisement


Contents


world of warcraft wow battle for azeroth bfa map
Blizzard Entertainment
Sometimes even the sprawling universe of Azeroth needs to shut its doors.

Is World of Warcraft down? Server status & DDoS reports

At the time of writing (May 10, 11:21 BST), all realms across Europe and North America & Oceania are operational. This can be seen on Blizzard’s WoW realm checker hub.

In the late hours of May 11, Blizzard experienced a DDoS attack, meaning that all services including World of Warcraft went down. The game is back up as of now, with Blizzard confirming that the servers were a victim of multiple “attacks.”

world of warcraft wow goblins playing and reading scroll
Blizzard Entertainment
Hotfixes and patches are usually the reasons servers drop.

Is there any planned maintenance for WoW?

There is a series of downtimes planned for World of Warcraft this week, beginning on May 11. This will last for one hour from 6 PM PST /9 PM EST/2 AM BST/3 AM CEST, and takes the form of a series of rolling restarts.

Advertisement

WoW Burning Crusade Classic will also be undergoing maintenance starting on the same day, but WoW Classic itself will be completely unavailable from 6 PM PST/9 PM EST/2 AM BST /3 AM CEST to 10 PM PST /1 AM EST/6 AM BST /7 AM CEST.

As the weeks progress, we’ll continue to update this page with the latest information on any downtime.


So that’s everything you need to know about whether or not World of Warcraft’s servers are down and if Blizzard have any maintenance planned.

Looking to etch yourself into Azeroth’s history (once the servers are up, of course)? Be sure to check out our other WoW guides:

Advertisement

WoW Zandalari troll guide | WoW Tauren Heritage Armor guide | Arms Warrior guide | Blood Death Knight guide | Enhancement Shaman guide | Elemental Shaman guide | Fire Mage guide | Havoc Demon Hunter guide | Restoration Druid guide | Shadow Priest guide | Subtlety Rogue guide | How to cancel WoW subscription