Destiny 2 server status: Are Destiny servers down?

Destiny 2 Sever Key ArtBungie

Every so often, Destiny 2 servers go down in order to perform scheduled maintenance or implement updates into the game. Here’s everything you need to know to know about the Destiny 2 server status.

Destiny 2 is a live-service game, with three-month seasons that contain new story elements and activities. Now that we’re at the end of  Season of Plunder, Season 19 is on the horizon and arriving at Weekly Reset.

Server downtime is expected, though, as Bungie prepares for the final season of the year before Lightfall arrives in February.

Lucky for you, we’ve simplified the process of finding out the Destiny 2 server status as well as when, why, and for how long the game will be offline.

Article continues after ad

Destiny 2 Season of Plunder key artBungie
Season of Plunder is on its way out.

Destiny 2 Server Status

Servers will go down on December 6

Servers are up now, but they’ll be going down on December 6 for the Destiny 2 patch 6.3.0 — and you’ll need to download it to avoid a CAT error.

As per the latest Bungie blog post, the release schedule is as follows:

  • 8 AM PST/4 PM GMT/5 PM CET: Maintenance begins in the background
  • 8:45 AM PST/4:45 PM GMT/5:45 PM CET: Destiny 2 goes offline for maintenance
  • 9 AM PST/5 PM GMT/6 PM CET: Destiny 2 comes back online and players can download patch 6.3.0.
  • 10 AM PST/6 PM GMT/7 PM CET: Destiny 2 background maintenance due to be completed

You can expect some server queues ahead, so be patient!

Dexerto will continue to update this page in the event of extended server issues or downtime.

Additional server maintenance resources

To stay up-to-date on the status of Destiny servers, readers can bookmark this article and come back to it as a reference point. Otherwise, if you’re on Twitter, consider following @BungieHelp for constant updates on the game, including downtime, patch notes, or any other such updates.

Article continues after ad

Another helpful tool is Bungie’s Help site, as mentioned previously. Here, players can click on “Network Troubleshooting” to access anything server-related, and also have quick access to guides, forums, and lots of other useful content related to navigating Destiny 2.


So, there you have it – everything you need to know about the server status in Destiny 2. For more tips and tricks, be sure to check out our guide content.

Best PvP weapons | Destiny 2 Promo Codes | Destiny 2 Prime Gaming Rewards | Infamy Ranks Guide | Glory Ranks Guide | Current Xur location | Iron Banner countdown