TFT Set 7 details: New champion leaks, traits, Dragon mechanic - Dexerto
League of Legends

What we know about TFT Set 7: Dragonlands champions, traits, Dragon mechanic

Published: 12/May/2022 9:00 Updated: 12/May/2022 9:06

by Andrew Amos


Ready to fly around the dragon lands? The next TFT set is nearly here, with a host of new champions, traits, and a unique mechanic. Here’s what we know about TFT Set 7, Dragonlands, and its Dragons.

TFT Set 7 is just around the corner, and we’re going back to the Dragonlands.

“Our seventh set takes place in the dragon realms where clans compete for power across various islands, each worshipping their own powerful ancient dragons locked behind the mysteries of dormant shrines,” developer ‘Craftbrew’ said in a January 2022 dev video.

The hype is already building for the update including the roster of champions and traits, and the Dragon mechanic teased in that short introduction.


Here’s what we know so far about TFT Set 7, including when it’ll be coming out.

TFT Set 7 champions & traits

While Riot kept their cards close to their chest for a while — only showcasing Illaoi in January’s teaser — players now know more than 30 of the champions and traits coming to TFT Set 7. Plus, one of them looks to be completely new to TFT in Ao Shin, who League players might know as the scrapped Aurelion Sol concept.

Developer ‘Wittrock’ opened up on all the new units, and what they did, in a May 2022 dev video. You can find a list of the confirmed TFT Set 7 units so far, with more to come when the update drops on PBE.


  • Ao Shin
  • Aurelion Sol
  • Corki
  • Elise
  • Galio
  • Hecarim
  • Illaoi
  • Jinx
  • Kayn
  • Lee Sin
  • Nami
  • Neeko
  • Nidalee
  • Ryze
  • Sejuani
  • Senna
  • Sett
  • Shen
  • Shyvana
  • Skarner
  • Sona
  • Swain
  • Sylas
  • Talon
  • Thresh
  • Twitch
  • Varus
  • Vladimir
  • Volibear
  • Xayah
  • Xin Zhao

As for traits, here’s what we know so far:

  • Astral
  • Brawler
  • Cavalier
  • Dragon
  • Guild
  • Jade
  • Mage
  • Shapeshifter
  • Swiftshot
  • Tempest
  • Whispers

We’ll update you with the full list once Riot pushes TFT Set 7 live on PBE.

TFT Set 7 mechanic explained: Dragons

Riot are bringing back Gizmos and Gadgets’ Hextech Augments as the TFT Set 7 mechanic after much community love.

“Dragonlands marks the first-ever return of a set mechanic in Augments, but has a few more draconic tricks in store that are sure to hatch excitement,” TFT caster Rosemary ‘Nekkra’ Kelley said during the Gizmos & Gadgets World Championship.

The developers have also spoken about a new Dragons system, tying into the set theme, as the next evolution.


“[We’re] building upon the community’s favorite, Hextech Augments, to bring a similar level of replayability and strategy in a world of dragons that are just as varied as the mechanic’s combinations,” Craftbrew said.

Riot Games
Riot Games
Illaoi is returning to Teamfight Tactics in TFT Set 7 as a five-cost behemoth.

There are currently seven Dragons, which are purchaseable in-game at the same odds as five-costs. They cost significantly more gold compared to other units in their tier and take up two spaces like a Colossus unit. However, they’re very powerful beasts you’ll want on your side.

Each Dragon has a different power-up, and they also boost the specific trait they align with. They gain triple the trait bonus, but this only activates if you have one on board (for now) so you can’t stack them.


There’s an eighth Dragon too — called the Treasure Dragon. It’s replacing the Stage 4-7 Raptors round, with the event “giving you a final opportunity to finish your comp”, according to Riot. This includes extra gold, item components, and more boosts. You can refresh your selection for one gold, but you have to take what you’re given — you can’t pick and choose.

This was initially teased by Mortdog: “The thing we’re working on for Set 7, I think will make a lot of people who miss Armory happy. And I also think it will do it in a healthier and more interesting way.”


TFT Set 7 release date

Riot has confirmed that TFT Set 7, Dragonlands, will be launching on live servers on TFT patch 12.11. The update is primed to drop on June 8, 2022.

Dragonlands will go in for beta testing on the PBE two weeks earlier though, on May 24, 2022. If you want to get in on the action right away, be sure to sign up for a PBE account.

We’ll keep you updated with all the TFT Set 7 news as it happens right here.