Warzone Ranked Play: Rewards, divisions & how it works

Declan Mclaughlin
warzone operator wearing ranked play skin in al mazrah

Warzone Ranked Play has returned in Season 3 with new rewards for you to earn. Here’s everything you need to know including how it works, the SR system, loadout restrictions, and what divisions you can climb to. 

Ranked Play debuted in Warzone 2 in May 2023 finally introducing a real competitive mode to Call of Duty’s battle royale. It took a short break before reappearing in Warzone Season 2 after MW3’s integration. 

We’re in Season 3 Reloaded and Warzone Ranked Play is still around but now with new rewards for you to earn. These include exclusive weapon camos and operator skins that can’t be gotten in any other game mode. 

Here’s a full breakdown of Warzone Ranked Play and how it currently works. 


Warzone players landing in Resurgence Ranked Play.

Warzone Ranked Play: Resurgence Divisions

You can progress through eight Skill Divisions by reaching various SR milestones. The current Divisions and SR requirements for each of them are as follows:

  • Bronze – Starting Division
  • Silver – 900 SR
  • Gold – 2,100 SR
  • Platinum – 3,600 SR
  • Diamond – 5,400 SR
  • Crimson – 7,500 SR
  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR
  • Top 250 – 10,000+ SR

Warzone Ranked Play: How the SR System works

Skill Rating determines a player’s placement during the season across eight divisions with everyone starting in Bronze 1 with 0 Skill Rating.

Players progress through higher divisions by reaching specific SR thresholds. Each division has three tiers except for the top two, Iridescent and Top 250.

Gaining SR

Players primarily earn SR by getting kills and assists but it is also earned each time a teammate gets a kill. The SR received for each kill and assist increases when fewer people are alive with the amount going up to over 10 when three squads remain.

Another way you can earn SR is to survive longer in your matches. SR is rewarded based on final placement in a match with first place earning 100 and the top 12 all earning 20 each.

Bonus SR can be earned by completing Seasonal Challenges for the first time like winning a match or getting 100 kills or assists. However, these are one-time rewards that cannot be earned again after completion until next season.

Losing SR

While there are many ways to gain SR it can also be lost just as easily. There are two ways to lose SR in Warzone Ranked Play, Deployment Fees and Death Fees.

You’ll need to spend SR for each deployment into a match. The lone exception to this is if you are in Bronze, but Silver Division players and up have to pay the following to play Warzone Ranked Play:

  • Silver I: -10 SR
  • Silver II: -14 SR
  • Silver III: -18 SR
  • Gold I: -23 SR
  • Gold II: – 28 SR
  • Gold III: -33 SR
  • Platinum I: -39 SR
  • Platinum II: -45 SR
  • Platinum III: -51 SR
  • Diamond I: -58 SR
  • Diamond II: -65 SR
  • Diamond III: -72 SR
  • Crimson I: -80 SR
  • Crimson II: -90 SR
  • Crimson III: -100 SR
  • Iridescent & Top 250: Starts at -110 SR to -280 SR

As for Death Fees, they start at Silver 1 and cause players to lose SR with each death. The penalty for each death is increased in each division tier with Iridescent players losing the most SR. The current Death Fee penalties are as follows:

  • Silver I-III: -2 SR per Death
  • Gold I-III: -3 SR per Death
  • Platinum I-III: -4 SR per Death
  • Diamond I-III: -5 SR per Death
  • Crimson I-III: -6 SR per Death
  • Iridescent & Top 250: -7 SR per Death

Warzone Ranked Play: Resurgence Rewards

You earn rewards in Warzone Ranked Play in three different ways: Ranked Rewards, Season Rewards, and End of Season Rewards.

Ranked Rewards are generic rewards that can be earned in any season while Season Rewards are specific to the current season. Finally, End of Season Rewards are also exclusive to the current season but can only be claimed once the season ends.

Here are the Rank Rewards available right now:

  • Rank 05: ‘Sweat Buggy’ Vehicle Skin & Calling Card
  • Rank 10: ‘On the Rise’ Animated Emblem & Calling Card
  • Rank 15: ‘Carrying the Squad’ Weapon Sticker & Calling Card
  • Rank 20: ‘Team Player’ Weapon Charm & Calling Card
  • Rank 25: ‘GOAT’ Animated Emblem & Calling Card
  • Rank 30: ‘WZ Ranked Play’ Weapon Camo & Calling Card
  • Rank 35: ‘WTB Teammate’ Weapon Sticker & Calling Card
  • Rank 40: ‘Beamed’ Large Weapon Decal & Calling Card
  • Rank 45: ‘You Tried’ Weapon Charm & Calling Card
  • Rank 50: “WZ Ranked Veteran” Operator Skin, Animated Emblem, and Animated Calling Card.

Here are the Season Rewards available right now:

  • Placement Challenges
    • Finish Top 8 25 Times: ‘Melted’ Large Weapon Decal
    • Finish Top 5 25 Times: ‘Pro Issue Striker’ SMG Blueprint
    • Finish 1st: ‘Popped Off’ Weapon Charm
  • Kill & Assist Challenges
    • Get 50 Kills or Assists: ‘WZ Ranked Play Season 3 Competitor’ Weapon Sticker
    • Get 250 Kills or Assists: ‘Top Tier’ Loading Screen
    • Get 1000 Kills or Assists: ‘WZ Season 3 Ranked Veteran’ Weapon Camo

Here are the End of Season Rewards available when Season 3 concludes:

  • Bronze: ‘WZ Season 3 Bronze’ Emblem
  • Silver: ‘WZ Season 3 Silver’ Emblem
  • Gold: ‘WZ Season 3 Gold’ Weapon Camo and Animated Emblem
  • Platinum: ‘WZ Season 3 Platinum’ Weapon Camo and Animated Emblem
  • Diamond: ‘WZ Season 3 Diamond’ Weapon Camo and Animated Emblem
  • Crimson: ‘WZ Season 3 Crimson’ Weapon Camo and Animated Emblem
  • Iridescent: ‘WZ Season 3 Iridescent’ Animated Weapon Camo, Animated Emblem, and Animated Calling Card
  • Top 250: ‘WZ Season 3 Top 250’ Animated Weapon Camo, Animated Emblem, and Animated Calling Card (Players must finish in the Top 250 Division to qualify for these rewards.)

New this year are the Skill Division Operator Skin sets for use with both 2024 CDL Male & Female Operators on both Factions. Here is the breakdown of how the skin will be awarded at the end of the season:

  • Gold – Iridescent: Earn the applicable ‘Gold Competitor’, ‘Platinum Competitor’, ‘Diamond Competitor’, ‘Crimson Competitor’, or ‘Iridescent Competitor’ Operator Skin based on your highest Skill Division reached in the Season.
  • Top 250: Unlock the ‘Top 250 Competitor’ Operator Skin by finishing a Season in the Top 250 Skill Division.

Warzone Ranked Play: Resurgence Loadout Restrictions

Ranked Play has restrictions on what weapons and attachments are allowed in matches to make the mode more competitive. The exact rotation can change from season to season, but there will always be limits to what you can equip on your loadouts.

These weapons, perks, and vehicles are currently restricted in Warzone Ranked Play:

  • Weapons
    • Melee
      • Riot Shields
    • Launchers
      • All
    • Shotguns
      • KV Broadside
      • MX Guardian
      • Haymaker
      • Riveter
  • Attachments
    • Ammunition
    • Snakeshot
    • Dragon’s Breath
  • Optics
    • All Thermals
  • Underbarrel
    • Jak Purifier
    • Corvus Torch
  • Trigger Action
    • Maelstrom Dual Trigger
  • Killstreaks
    • Mosquito Drone
  • Perks
    • Birdseye
    • Perk Packs
    • Technician 
    • Airman 
  • Plate Carrier
    • Comms Vest
  • Vehicles
    • All Turreted Ground Vehicles
    • All Turreted Aquatic Vehicles

That’s everything you need to know about Warzone Ranked Play as of Season 3 Reloaded. This article will be updated again when the next seasonal update drops.

Related Topics

About The Author

Based in Indiana, Declan McLaughlin is an esports reporter for Dexerto Esports covering Valorant, LoL and anything else that pops up. Previously an editor and reporter at Upcomer, Declan is often found reading investigative stories or trying to do investigations himself. He has a bachelor's degree in journalism from Indiana University. You can contact him at declan.mclaughlin@dexerto.com.