Rainbow Six

Rainbow Six community rallies behind operator ban system rework concept

Published: 21/Jan/2020 5:24

by Andrew Amos


Rainbow Six: Siege players are getting behind caster Parker ‘Interro’ Mackay’s operator ban rework concept that’ll allow players to “protect” characters they don’t want banned, as well as removing the attacker-defender limit.

With over 50 operators in the game, and each character bringing something different to every map, bans have become a core of Rainbow Six’s gameplay since being introduced in 2018.

From ranked to pro play, being able to ban pesky operators can really improve the experience, as well as force teams to adapt their strategies.

The current ban system in Rainbow Six allows each team to ban one attacker and one defender operator each, taking four characters out of the game completely. Teams can choose to not ban, but this is very rarely used in pro play, and isn’t advisable in matchmaking.

Rainbow Six Pick Ban System
Rainbow Six’s current ban system takes up to four operators off the table for every game.

However, with the ever-increasing number of operators, and the staleness of the meta at times, popular content creator and caster Interro has devised a new ban system that seems to have the community’s interest piqued.

The reworked model, as described by Interro, will give teams the chance to save operators they would like to play, and not force teams to ban one from each side.

“Remove the requirement that bans be split by attackers/defenders and let teams ban any operator,” he said. “Also, let teams ‘protect’ an operator after the first set of bans.”

Interro’s ban system would allow teams to save who they want to play, meaning operators like Mira, Echo, and Maverick might see some more playtime in pro play. However, it could also skew some maps to be heavily one-sided if players lob all four bans onto a certain side.

“I feel like this could open up a lot of variety in the way teams play certain maps and sites,” he said. “It could also have a lot of influence over whether a map or meta is attacker or defender sided.”

The idea has been met with praise from the community, although others have added their own spin on the system. Fnatic coach Jayden ‘Dizzle’ Saunders suggested that players can protect operators before any team gets to ban.

Those aren’t the only changes the community has started pushing for as well. A petition to remove the six pick system from pro play has also been gaining traction, with players like Davide ‘FoxA’ Bucci and G2’s coach Kevin ‘Sua’ Stahnke pushing the issue.

“If the bans work like [how Interro] proposes, [remove six pick],” said the coach of the two-time Six Invitational champions.

With the Six Invitational around the corner and Season 11 of Pro League already kicked off, it’s unlikely any of these changes will be pushed in the coming months.

However, come Year 5 and Season 12 of Pro League, such changes to the operator ban system could become a reality.

Rainbow Six

How to upgrade Rainbow Six to next-gen PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles

Published: 26/Nov/2020 2:01 Updated: 26/Nov/2020 2:12

by Andrew Amos


Rainbow Six: Siege is hitting the next-gen PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles on December 1. If you’re looking to make the jump, here’s exactly what you need to do to upgrade. The best part is, it’s totally free.

Every title is trying to make the jump to the PlayStation 5 and the Xbox Series X and S consoles. The next generation is here ⁠— just in time for Christmas ⁠— and while grabbing some new games is always high on the list, old favorites shouldn’t be left behind.

If you’ve picked up a copy of Rainbow Six: Siege for the PS4 or Xbox One, you’ll be able to make the jump to the next-gen consoles on December 1. Here’s how you can upgrade.

Rainbow Six Siege Neon Dawn
Get ready to jump into Siege on the PS5 and Xbox Series X, starting December 1.

How to upgrade Rainbow Six Siege to PS5 and Xbox Series X|S

If you own a copy of Rainbow Six on PS4 or Xbox One, you can upgrade to the PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles for free ⁠— providing that you upgrade to a console in the same family.

That means the upgrade won’t work if you go from the Xbox One to PS5, or the PS4 to the Xbox Series X. Also, if you own a physical version of Rainbow Six, you won’t be able to transfer to discless consoles.

From there, it’s as simple as linking your console to Ubisoft Connect, downloading the game again, and jumping right into the action. Here’s a full step by step list of what you need to do.

  1. Link your Ubisoft Connect account to your Xbox or PlayStation account here.
  2. Log onto your console and download Rainbow Six Siege (or insert your physical disc).
  3. Launch the game.
Operation Neon Dawn header for Rainbow Six Siege
The launch of Rainbow Six on next-gen consoles on December 1 will likely align with the release of Operation Neon Dawn.

Rainbow Six cross-play and cross-progression confirmed

Once you upgrade your console, you won’t have to start from scratch. Ubisoft have confirmed that Rainbow Six will not only have cross-progression, but also cross-play between console generations.

You’ll keep all your progress, including Operators, in-game items, stats, and more, and you’ll also be able to play with friends if they don’t make the jump to next-gen just yet.

However, cross-play and cross-progression won’t be coming to PC in the near future. While Ubisoft aims on implementing it for the PS5 and Xbox Series X down the line, they will not be available on launch.