How to get every Rotom form in Pokemon Sword & Shield

Jacob Hale
Nintendo/Pokemon Company

Rotom is a plasma Pokemon that was first introduced in Generation 4, an Electric- and Ghost-type hybrid that can take on a number of forms, with all different typings to boot.

In Pokemon Sword and Shield, Rotom can come in five different forms, not including the original Rotom that was introduced in Pokemon Diamond and Pearl. From Black and White onwards, Rotom came in different forms with a variety of options to choose from, and these new forms have carried over to Sword and Shield.

However, it’s not as easy as just catching a Rotom in one of its different forms, with different specifications needed to get each one.

So how do you go about getting each different Rotom form?

How to get Rotom in Pokemon Sword and Shield

Pokemon Company
Rotom was first introduced in Pokemon Diamond & Pearl.

Rotom isn’t an easy Pokemon to capture by any stretch of the imagination in Sword and Shield. The genderless Pokemon is available only at the Lake of Outrage as an overworld encounter, meaning you won’t have to traverse the tall grass to find one.

It also has a 2% rarity meaning you will likely have to spend a lot of time trying to find one, perhaps because they’re only available when its raining or during a thunderstorm.

If you are fortunate enough to find a Rotom at the Lake of Outrage, it will be between the levels of 55-58, meaning it will likely be a good, high-level option if you’re looking for a new member of the team after beating the eighth gym. It will also be in its original form, as it’s not possible to capture in its other forms.

You’ll want to make sure you’re stocked up on Poke Balls when trying to capture Rotom: the rarity and low capture rate make sure this will be a tough one to add to your party but is well worth it if you manage to get one.

But how do you get the different forms?

How to get the different Rotom forms

Pokemon CompanyMow Rotom is one of the five different forms available.

There are five different Rotom forms, not including the original. There is Frost Rotom, Heat Rotom, Mow Rotom, Fan Rotom, and Wash Rotom. Once you’ve captured your Rotom, you have to travel to the Wyndon Stadium and battle the League Staff trainer who uses three different Rotom forms.

After the battle, he will give you a Rotom Catalog, from which you can select different appliances for your Rotom to have, with each appliance offering your Rotom a different ability and form. Below are each appliance and what form of Rotom you get from them:

  • For Fan Rotom pick the Electric fan, making him Electric/Flying-type and teaches the move Air Slash.
  • For Wash Rotom pick the Washing machine, making him Electric/Water-type and teaches the move Hydro Pump.
  • For Heat Rotom pick the Microwave oven, making him Electric/Fire-type and teaches the move Overheat.
  • For Mow Rotom pick the Lawn mower, making him Electric/Grass-type and teaches the move Leaf Storm.
  • For Frost Rotom pick the Refrigerator, making him Electric/Ice-type and teaches the move Blizzard.

While Rotom is definitely not easy to catch, the variety in types makes it a very valuable asset to any team, providing you get the Rotom Catalog to change its typing.

It’s also very much worthy of bragging rights; not many will have the patience to find and catch a Rotom in the wild.

About The Author

Jacob is Dexerto’s UK Editor and Call of Duty esports specialist. With a BA (Hons) in English Literature and Creative Writing, he previously worked as an Editor at Ginx TV. Jacob was nominated for Journalist of the Year at the 2023 Esports Awards. Contact: