Overwatch 2: When is Blizzcon 2021? - Dexerto
Overwatch

Overwatch 2: When is Blizzcon 2021?

Published: 1/Feb/2021 20:30 Updated: 1/Feb/2021 21:41

by Bill Cooney

Share


The online replacement for the canceled Blizzcon 2020 convention is coming right up, and we’ve got all the info on how to catch all of the Overwatch 2 news coming for yourself.

BlizzCon is one of the biggest dates of the year for anyone who enjoys the publisher’s games. From World of Warcraft, to Diablo, to Hearthstone, and yes, especially Overwatch, we’ve come to count on it for the latest updates on all of our favorite game franchises.

Advertisement

Due to global events, the 2020 convention was postponed until February 2021, and will be held completely online for the first time ever, so let’s take a look at when it will happen, how to watch it for yourself, and more.

When is Blizzcon 2021?

Advertisement

Blizzard has already revealed that BlizzConline 2021 will take place February 19-20, and it will be completely free to watch and interact with, according to president J. Allen Brack.

On February 1, Blizzard came out with a bunch of info on the upcoming convention, including an awesome new StarCraft x Overwatch crossover skin for Reinhardt, along with the start times for each of the days.

Advertisement

Day one will begin at 2 PM PST/5 PM EST/10 PM GMT on February 19 with the highly-anticipated opening ceremony, followed by a variety of in-depth panels. Day 2 starts at 12 PM PST/3 PM EST/8 PM GMT on Feb. 20 with shows on cosplay, art, and other community showcases.

Traditionally, big news and announcements for all the flagship games are made during the first day’s opening ceremonies, so be sure to tune in right away and see what Jeff has in store for us as soon as things kick-off.

Advertisement

How to watch BlizzCon 2021?

Blizzard EntertainmentJeff will (hopefully) be giving us some big Overwatch 2 news, so be sure not to miss it!

Blizzard has streamed the opening ceremony with all the major announcements for free in past years, with panels, discussions, and all other content hidden behind a paywall.

Obviously, this isn’t the case now, since Blizzard has opened up the entire show for free for everyone to stream on the official BlizzCon website.

Advertisement

In past years Blizzard has also streamed the opening ceremony on YouTube and Twitch. Looking at 2021 though, it’s not hard to see them showing the entirety of the con on both their YouTube and Twitch channels and possibly even the Overwatch and WoW ones as well.

We’ll be updating this story with some embedded streams and links as soon as they become available, so be sure to check back as we get closer to Feb. 19.

What Overwatch 2 news will there be at BlizzCon 2021?

In case you haven’t noticed, Blizzard has been practicing radio silence on anything and everything Overwatch 2 since they announced it in 2019. That being said, we have no official indication of what we could see announced this year, and probably won’t until things kick-off.

Predictions have ranged from just a few new heroes and maps being previewed to a full-on release date being announced, but unless you’re a developer or Jeff Kaplan himself, you’ll just have to wait along with the rest of us to find out. We do know there has to be something getting announced after a year and a half of waiting (right?) so this is one BlizzCon you definitely won’t want to miss.