Destiny 2: Forsaken Brings New Locations, But No New Planets - Dexerto

Destiny 2: Forsaken Brings New Locations, But No New Planets

Published: 4/Sep/2018 17:55 Updated: 4/Sep/2018 18:16

by Virginia Glaze


The Destiny 2: Forsaken expansion drops on September 4, bringing three DLC add-ons with new ‘bubble’ locations.

[ad name=”article1″]

Forsaken will feature an Annual Pass, which Bungie revealed will contain three DLC add-ons for 2019. These add-ons have been dubbed Joker’s Wild, Penumbra, and Black Armory.

Bungie has stated that this DLC is not a true expansion – rather, these three releases are less story-intensive and more gameplay-oriented, unlike their predecessors.

[ad name=”article2″]

Also unlike previous DLC releases, Forsaken will not feature new planets.

In an interview with Polygon, Bungie’s Steve Cotton revealed the implementation of what he called ‘bubble’ locations, as well as stated that no new planets would be revealed in the upcoming year.


“We’re going to have new places to check out… Sorry, I should be specific. What we call ‘bubbles’ or new spaces; I’m not saying new planets.”

[ad name=”article3″]

The interview revealed a taste of these new locations, describing what appears to be an ‘underground bunker’ in Black Armory, while Penumbra features Destiny 2’s Leviathan spacecraft.

While these ‘bubble’ locations might bring new spaces to familiar planets, it could also mean the return of classic locations in the series. Players could be seeing scenery from Destiny 1 in the coming months.

[ad name=”article4″]

The Forsaken Annual Pass can be purchased for $35, and includes the Joker’s Wild, Penumbra, and Black Armory add-ons. Black Armory is the first to release, set to go live in Winter of 2018. Joker’s Wild will release in Spring 2019, followed by Penumbra that Summer.


Although not story-focused, the add-ons will feature new lore, as well as new weapons, armor, and more.