IEM Katowice 2019 CS:GO Major team list confirmed - Dexerto

IEM Katowice 2019 CS:GO Major team list confirmed

Published: 28/Jan/2019 13:11 Updated: 28/Jan/2019 13:50

by Ross Deason


The IEM Katowice Minors’ third place play-in tournament concluded on January 27 and the 24 teams that will compete at the 14th Valve sponsored CS:GO Major have officially been confirmed. Here’s everything you need to know.

The third place play-in competition saw the third place teams from each Minor get one last chance to earn a spot in the IEM Katowice New Challengers Stage in a four team, double-elimination bracket.


Unfortunately for North and Team Envy fans, this was still not enough for the European and North American hopefuls. Instead, Winstrike Team – the third place team from the CIS Minor – and ViCi Gaming – third in the Asia Minor – capitalized on their second chance and became the final two teams to make it to the Major.

ESLFan favorites ENCE cruised through the EU Minor.

They will join the eight teams that finished first or second in the Minors in the New Challengers Stage of the 2019 IEM Katowice CS:GO Major along with the six returning challengers from the FACEIT London Major.


The 2019 IEM Katowice participants for the New Challengers stage are as follows:

Minor Challengers

  • ENCE eSports
  • NRG Esports
  • Renegades
  • Team Vitality
  • FURIA Esports
  • Team Spirit
  • Grayhound Gaming
  • Winstrike Team
  • ViCi Gaming

Returning Challengers

  • Ninjas in Pyjamas
  • Fnatic
  • G2 Esports
  • Vega Squadron
  • Cloud9 
  • TyLoo

Cloud9’s strong performance at the recent ELEAGUE Invitational will give the former Major champions some ahead of Katowice.

The 16 Challengers will compete from February 13 – 17 in the New Challengers Stage and the top eight will advance to face the top eight teams from FACEIT London, also known as the Returning Legends.

The full list of Returning Legends for the $1 million IEM Katowice 2019 Major is as follows:


Returning Legends

  • Astralis
  • Natus Vincere
  • MIBR
  • Team Liquid
  • compLexity Gaming
  • BIG
  • HellRaisers
  • FaZe Clan

Astralis will be the team to beat at the Katowice Major.

The New Legends stage of the contest will run from February 20 – 24 and the top eight teams will then advance to the New Champions Stage and play in a single-elimination bracket from February 28 – March 3. The last team standing will be the new Major champions.

You can can find out more about the IEM Katowice Major 2019 format, schedule and more in our how to watch guide and information hub. Alternatively, follow @Dexerto on Twitter for regular updates and news.


How GeT_RiGHT became CSGO’s first God

Published: 9/Oct/2020 1:58 Updated: 9/Oct/2020 2:02

by Alan Bernal


Counter-Strike: Global Offensive legend Christopher ‘GeT_RiGhT’ Alesund became the first god of the game by dazzling a generation of players, propelling the game’s meta by years, and leaving a historic mark not to be outdone anytime soon.

Since 2010, before CS:GO ever hit the market, GeT_RiGhT was already terrorizing teams in 1.6 with fellow Swede Patrik ‘f0rest’ Lindberg. Since their early 20s, the duo would rampage through events during their stints at Fnatic and SK Gaming.


If his career would have stopped in the 1.6 servers, his name would have still carried weight through the esports annals -but then, Global Offensive came out in 2012, where he would ascend to even greater heights of notoriety.

From the start, GeT_RiGhT would prove to be an instrumental force to reshape the Counter-Strike meta, specializing in dangerous lurks that would tilt opponents or catch them off guard.


It was risky, but so was his modus operandi. When early CS:GO pros would perfect their taps for long-range kills, he would hold Mouse1 to mow down entire teams with pinpoint recoil mastery.

He would soon be known for his multi-kills from a distance, without the need for consecutive fires, instead electing for choice bullet accuracy to push his team forward.

The #1 player in the world in 2013 and 2014, GeT_RiGhT, and the rest of the reformed Ninjas in Pyjamas that included Adam ‘Friberg,’ Robin ‘Fifflaren’ Johansson, Forest, and Richard ‘Xizt’ Landström would create an astounding 87-0 map win run.


GeT_RiGhT would go on to have an illustrious career filled with trophies, titles, and glory, becoming the first god of CS:GO along the way.