How to watch PlayStation Showcase on the future of PS5 - Dexerto
Gaming

How to watch PlayStation Showcase on the future of PS5

Published: 9/Sep/2021 13:24 Updated: 9/Sep/2021 13:25

by Lloyd Coombes

Share


Sony will hold a “PlayStation Showcase” this week which will feature 40 minutes of news and updates from PlayStation Studios and more.

Sony will finally reveal what’s in the pipeline for the PlayStation 5 in the coming months with a new “PlayStation Showcase” event arriving today, September 9.

As per the PlayStation Blog, the event will “weigh in at around 40 minutes and include updates from PlayStation Studios and some of the industry’s most imaginative developers,” with games being shown that are launching in “Holiday 2021 and beyond”.

Further developer updates will follow the event, although Sony has yet to confirm which developers will be involved.

Advertisement

PlayStation 5 console
Sony
PlayStation 5 is off to an incredible start for Sony.

PlayStation Showcase 2021: How to watch

The showcase will be broadcast on YouTube and Twitch at 1 PM PT / 4 PM EST/9 PM BST/10 PM CEST on September 9.

PlayStation Showcase 2021: What to expect

While Sony may have skipped E3 entirely, it did have a small segment at Gamescom Opening Night Live last month where Horizon Forbidden West was confirmed to have been pushed back to February 18, 2022. As disappointing as that may be for some fans, there’s a good chance it’ll still make an appearance since it marks the return of a big franchise for Sony.

The event also comes just days before the launch of Deathloop, with Arkane’s game remaining a PS5 console exclusive despite Microsoft’s acquisition of Bethesda, so we could get another quick look.

Advertisement

Kena: Bridge of Spirits will also launch on September 21, so expect that to make an appearance too, but PlayStation VR’s successor won’t be.

As per Sony: “One thing to note: PlayStation’s next generation of VR won’t make an appearance this time.”

Further ahead, 2022 looks exciting for PlayStation fans. Alongside Forbidden West, PS5 owners can expect to play Ghostwire Tokyo, Elden Ring, and the new Saints Row.