E3 2019: How to watch the Microsoft Xbox Scarlett reveal livestream - Dexerto
Gaming

E3 2019: How to watch the Microsoft Xbox Scarlett reveal livestream

Published: 14/May/2019 10:52 Updated: 9/Jun/2019 21:51

by Paul Cot

Share


The biggest gaming event of the year, E3 2019, starts today – the first presentation is a big one with Microsoft expected to announce their next generation console – Xbox Scarlett.

Naturally the reveal of Microsoft’s next generation console is one of the biggest gaming news events of the year. While the name of the new console has yet to be announced many are expecting it to at least having something to do with the Scarlett code name that keeps appearing.

Advertisement

You can watch Microsoft’s entire presentation live below. It is scheduled to start at 1pm Pacific, 4pm Eastern, 8pm GMT and 9pm BST.

The Electronic Enterainment Expo (E3) brings together hardware manufacturers, software developers and game publishers to show off their latest creations.

Advertisement

Video game enthusiasts await the annual event with much anticipation as the new that comes out of E3 shapes the gaming landscape for that year. New game announcements, updates from ones currently in development and even the revelation of new hardware is commonplace.

When is E3 2019?

E3 2019 starts on June 11 and ends on June 13. The three-day event will take place in the Los Angeles Convention Center, Los Angeles, California.

The Los Angeles Convention Center has held host to the event since 2008. E3 has also been held in June every event since 2009.

Advertisement

Tickets, or passes, can still be obtained for E3 2019. The gamer badge costs $249 and entitles you to basic access to the event for all three days. The other available alternative is a premium pass which costs $995. As the name suggests it entitles you to a few perks such as early hours access, VIP lounge and a catered breakfast and lunch each day.

E3 ExpoE3 is the biggest Gaming trade fair around.
LacclinkThe Los Angeles Convention Center will host E3 2019…

E3 2019 schedule

The E3 2019 schedule has been announced. An array of hardware developers and publishers have confirmed the date and time of their respective press conferences. The presentation times are as follows:

  • Microsoft: June 9, 1pm PDT, 4pm EDT, 9pm BST
  • Bethesda: June 9, 5:30pm PDT, 8:30pm EDT, 1:30am BST (June 10)
  • Devolver Digital: June 9, 7pm PDT, 10pm EDT, 3:00am BST (June 10)
  • PC Gaming Show: June 10, 10am PDT, 1pm EDT, 6pm BST
  • Ubisoft: June 10, 1pm PDT, 4pm EDT, 9pm BST
  • Kinda Funny Games Showcase: June 10, 4:30pm PDT, 7:30pm EDT, 12:30am BST (June 11)
  • Square Enix: June 10, 6pm PDT, 9pm EDT, 2am BST (June 11)
  • Nintendo: June 11, 9pm PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm BST

Sony and the PS5

Many gamers will be hoping some form of PS5 announcement or tease. However, Sony confirmed back in 2018 that they will be missing this year’s E3.

Advertisement

This is huge news in gaming circles as E3 2019 will mark the first time Sony hasn’t presented at the event.

Naturally, this will come as disappointing news to those who are awaiting further PlayStation 5 news. Rumors are circulating that Sony will reveal more PS5 information at their own annual event, PlayStation Experience (PSX).

Advertisement
pocket-lintSony won’t be appearing at E3 2019…

Microsoft E3

Since Microsoft moved into the gaming scene in 2000, they have been an ever-present at E3. Consequently, E3 2019 will be no exception to this. According to a leaked screenshot from Xbox Brasil, Microsoft will run a 2-hour long presentation, instead of their usual 90/105 minute show that they have run in the past.

This for this increase in time could be to do with the fact that of all the presentations, Microsoft’s one is arguably the most hyped. There is a simple reason for this: the Xbox 2. While nothing has been confirmed at this point, it is believed Microsoft will announce two separate next-generation consoles – Project Scarlett and Project Anaconda.

The consoles will likely be called something else but Microsoft’s presentation could include some juicy spec details, release date and even a visual of them. 

Where major new consoles are concerned this is obviously monumental gaming news. E3 2019 could start with some huge news as Microsoft are the first company to present.

Rockstar at E3?

The latest rumor, and probably most far-fetched, is that Rockstar will make a shock announcement at E3 2019.

The validity behind these claims is somewhat questionable. Firstly, the schedule for the event has already been determined. Secondly, Rockstar has never made an appearance at E3, opting to release all-new game information on their own platforms.

However, it can’t be ruled out entirely. Rumors about a new Rockstar game have gathered pace over the last several weeks. With GTA 5 releasing all the way back in 2013 and PS5 details recently being revealed, some sort of GTA 6 announcement would be apt.

The other rumor, assuming a Rockstar announcement occurs, is that their next game will Bully 2, a sequel to the 2006 classic.

While a Bully 2 game would be a big deal, its announcement would pail in comparison to confirmation of Grand Theft Auto 6.

Rockstar GamesAny form of Rockstar announcement would be massive news…

New Nintendo Switch?

Nintendo always releases lots of new information at E3, and this year will likely be no different. There are murmurings of a Nintendo Switch 2 and a Nintendo Switch lite.

The former is perhaps less likely as the Switch only released in March 2017. However, news of a Nintendo Switch lite has gathered momentum recently. If the rumors are true then E3 2019 would be the opportune time to announce it.


This article was last updated on Sunday, May 26 at 07:45 am Eastern Time. 

Smash

Iconic Smash Bros Hyrule Temple stage recreated in Tony Hawk Pro Skater

Published: 7/Oct/2020 17:21

by Michael Gwilliam

Share


Super Smash Bros Melee introduced many playable fan-favorite stages such as Final Destination and Battlefield, though none may be more infamous than Hyrule Temple. Now, a fan has recreated the Zelda stage within Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2.

Hyrule Temple is an absolute blast to play in a casual setting as it’s one of the largest stages in the game and has five sections for players to battle in – three on the upper area, and two on the lower.

Advertisement

Due to the stage’s layout and Smash’s casual scene consisting of items and multi-player brawls, it’s really the perfect battleground for chaos to ensue.

As it turns out, Hyrule Temple isn’t just a good Zelda-inspired Smash stage. It also makes for a pretty unique map in Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater.

Advertisement
Link on Hyrule Temple
Nintendo
Hyrule Temple has appeared in other Smash games since Melee.

Redditor Skramblez took to the popular site to share their recreation with the world. In a post titled “I recreated Hyrule Temple in Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2,” the gamer showed off the map in a video accompanied by Zelda music.

As you can see in the video, the stage’s sections are split into their own variants of a skate park. Some of the smaller paths are replaced by rails for skaters to grind on, and there’s plenty of gaps to clear.

The edges of the stage are replaced with ramps, so you shouldn’t be flying off the stage like you’ve still taken a Ganondorf F-Smash at a high percentage.

Advertisement

As a nice touch, and sticking with the Zelda lore, Skramblez even made the character look a bit like Link – at least the most Link-like the skateboarding game could allow for.

Instead of a green tunic, the player has a green hoodie. Instead of the green cap, it’s a beanie. However, the character does have long blonde hair, just like the Hero of Time.

Triforce in Tony Hawk Pro Skater
YouTube/David R
Don’t miss the Triforce hidden in the map.

According to Skramblez, it took fifteen hours to make the map. “The park editor’s not the most intuitive, but you can do a lot once you get used to it,” they explained.

Advertisement

If you want to try it out for yourself, just search “Hyrule Temple” in custom parks on Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2 on PC.