How to repost on TikTok: Repost button explained

Georgina Smith
tiktok

TikTok’s widely used repost feature allows users to share content with their followers, but many don’t know that it can also boost your engagement and grow your audience.

TikTok videos can range from just three seconds right up to 10 minutes, but all can spread like wildfire with the platform’s algorithm, which helps get some videos millions of likes and views.

Back in 2022, the social media app added a ‘Repost’ button, which allows users to share the videos they like the most with their followers.

What is TikTok’s repost button?

Simply put, TikTok’s repost feature is a quick way to share any video you find with your friends and followers.

Similar to other social media sites, instead of claiming ownership of the content by publishing it on your account, you’re simply relaying it to your followers through your account. Reposting will still show the original owner of the TikTok clip, but it will be available to your followers on your page.

TikTok logo on a dark background

How to repost on TikTok

If you want to repost something on TikTok, just follow these instructions:

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Find the video you want to repost.
  3. Press the share arrow in the bottom right of the screen.
  4. On the top row of icons, click ‘Repost.’

As TikTok adds more shareable options to the platform, expect to find more ways to interact with your favorite content creators.

Did TikTok remove the repost button?

Back in May 2022, many users began to report that they no longer had access to the repost button on TikTok, and that it had disappeared from the app altogether. Some were dismayed to see the feature go, as it had proven to be relatively popular with many users.

When TikTok initially started introducing the feature at the end of 2021 and the start of 2022, it appeared to only be in a testing period originally. This may explain the reports that the feature was disappearing from the app, although TikTok has not officially confirmed this.

The repost button reappeared eventually. However, in May 2024, a number of users reported that they were unable to repost anything or see the videos they’ve previously reposted. TikTok did not provide any official comments on the matter, but the issue seems to have been resolved since then.

If you want to learn more about how to use TikTok, you can check out our other guides including how to duet on TikTok and how to find contacts on TikTok.