ESL Pro League Season 9: Finals playoff stage - Stream, schedule, results and more - Dexerto
CS:GO

ESL Pro League Season 9: Finals playoff stage – Stream, schedule, results and more

Published: 20/Jun/2019 15:42 Updated: 23/Jun/2019 13:40

by Matt Porter

Share


The ESL CS:GO Pro League Season 9 Finals are underway, with the group stages officially wrapped up ahead of the playoff portion of the tournament.

The Season 9 Finals are taking place in Montpellier, France, with 16 of the world’s best Counter-Strike teams descending on the city to take part in the $600,000 tournament, with the winners set to pick up a cool $250,000.

The tournament’s group stages saw the 16 teams weeded down to just six, who advance to the playoff stage of the tournament, and get the opportunity to play inside the Sud de France Arena.

ESLTeam Liquid currently sit at the top of the world rankings.

A number of huge teams are in attendance this week, but perhaps none bigger than Astralis and Team Liquid, who square off with the pair battling for supremacy at the top of the CS:GO world rankings. 

Team Liquid became the first ever North American team to sit atop of the rankings, ending the dominant Danes’ stranglehold at the summit, which lasted for 406 days. 

The pair are two of the favorites heading into the playoff stage, however, a shaky start to the competition from the North American squad will give others confidence that they can go on and secure the victory in France. 

Where can I watch the ESL Pro League Season 9 playoffs?

The Season 9 playoffs are being streamed on the official ESL Twitch account. You can view all the action below.

Watch live video from ESL_CSGO on www.twitch.tv

Who has made it into the ESL Pro League playoffs?

G2 Esports became the first team a spot in the playoff portion of the tournament, sealing their position as the 3rd place finishers from Group A with an emphatic 2-0 win over Heroic. 

What is the schedule for the ESL Pro League Season 9 playoffs?

With the group stage concluded, games resumed on Thursday, June 20 with the two quarter final matches.

The incredibly intense semi-finals took place on Saturday as Team Liquid continued to show why they are the number one team in the world. Yet, they’ll face a difficult test – and the might of the home crowd – taking on the resurgent G2 esports. 

Thursday, June 20

G2 Esports vs. Heroic 6:00 AM PST 9:00 AM EST 2:00 PM BST
NRG Esports vs. Astralis 9:50 AM PST 12:50 PM EST 5:50 PM BST

Friday, June 21

FaZe Clan vs. G2 Esports 6:00 AM PST 9:00 AM EST 2:00 PM BST
Astralis vs. Team Liquid 9:50 AM PST 12:50 PM EST 5:50 PM BST

Saturday, June 22

NRG Esports vs. FaZe Clan/G2 Esports 7:00 AM PST 10:00 AM EST 3:00 PM BST
mousesports vs. Astralis/Team Liquid 9:50 AM PST 12:50 PM 5:50 PM BST

Sunday, June 23

Team Liquid vs. G2 Esports 7:00 AM PST 10:00 AM EST 3:00 PM BST

How did teams qualify for the playoff stage?

The 16 teams who entered the ESL Pro League Season 9 Finals were divided into two groups of eight teams, using their online league placements to seed them. The first matches in the group stages were best-of-ones, with all following matches using a best-of-three format.

Group winners advance straight to the semi-finals, with runners up and third-placed teams proceeding to the quarter finals as higher or lower seeds respectively.

You can view the full final standings of both groups below.

Group A

Position Team Record
1st NRG Esports 3-0
2nd Astralis 2-1
3rd G2 Esports 3-1
Eliminated Heroic 1-2
Eliminated Cloud9 1-2
Eliminated Fnatic 1-2
Eliminated Grayhound 0-2
Eliminated DETONA Gaming 0-2

Group B

Position Team Record
1st mousesports 3-0
2nd FaZe Clan 2-1
3rd Team Liquid 3-1
Eliminated MIBR 1-2
Eliminated Hellraisers 1-2
Eliminated North 1-2
Eliminated TYLOO 0-2
Eliminated Luminosity 0-2

This post was last updated on Sunday, June 23 at 09:40 am EST. 

CS:GO

FunPlus Phoenix reportedly returning to CSGO with GODSENT roster

Published: 21/Oct/2020 2:40

by Alan Bernal

Share


FunPlus Phoenix have reportedly entered discussions to acquire the GODSENT roster and return to the CSGO landscape in the coming weeks.

FunPlus Phoenix have had a rather unceremonious start to their journey in CS:GO. Known for winning the League of Legends World Championship in 2019, they looked to enter the popular FPS title through Flashpoint in 2020.

However, it wasn’t smooth sailing. They picked up and let go of rosters: first Heroic, then Bad News Bears. Now though, they’re looking like they’re ready to pick up their third, and potentially final roster.

DreamHack
KRYSTAL and the rest of the GODSENT lineup could be making a move to FPX.

GODSENT is reportedly in “advanced discussions” with FunPlus Phoenix to take their roster onboard for the remainder of the year, according to HLTV and DBLTAP.

If the two teams agree to terms, that means that the lineup consisting of Kevin ‘kRYSTAL’ Amend, Martin ‘STYKO’ Styk, Jesse ‘zehN’ Linjala, Pavle ‘maden’ Bošković, and Asger ‘farlig’ Jensen would soon wear black and red.

The deal could also bring current GODSENT coach Jonatan ‘Devilwalk’ Lundberg into the fold with the new org.

In late-September, FunPlus announced Petar ‘peca’ Markovi as the General Manager for both Valorant and CSGO divisions. Now it looks like peca is making an all-in purchase for the EU roster that is ranked 19th in the world at the time of publishing.

Michal Konkol via Riot Games
The FPX banner could fly in CSGO again soon.

The general manager also indicated, regardless of a team-acquisition, that FPX wouldn’t participate in Flashpoint Season 2. Although one of the founding teams, FunPlus will instead “take [their] time and focus on 2021.

“We don’t want to make any rushed decisions, as our main goal is to build a promising, long-lasting roster,” he said.

The org initially expected to play with Heroic’s roster back in March, which would have included Patrick ‘es3tag’ Hansen among others. Unfortunately, that deal fell through, which prompted FPX to target Swole Patrol’s roster, though that didn’t pan out as well.

Eventually, they temporarily fielded the Bad News Bears for the second leg of Flashpoint 1, after only playing one match prior and forfeiting the rest of the first phase.

While the FPX front office successfully put together a Worlds championship roster in 2019 for League of Legends, it’s going to once again attempt to bring a similar metric of success for CSGO.

Peca teased that there could be “news soon,” and if the reports turn out to be realized FPX could be announcing its acquisition of the GODSENT lineup in the near future.