The Shanghai Dragons Have Released Almost All of Their Players - Dexerto

The Shanghai Dragons Have Released Almost All of Their Players

Published: 3/Sep/2018 8:31 Updated: 3/Sep/2018 8:33

by Joe O'Brien


Shanghai Dragons have released the majority of their Overwatch League team after a disastrous first season.

The Dragons were unquestionably the weakest team in the league in the first season, finishing in last place without having won a single series, a 0-40 final match record.

As teams begin to build their rosters for the second season, Shanghai has announced the most drastic changes of any season one team, releasing nearly their entire roster. With eight players departing the team, only Kim ‘Geguri’ Se-yeon, Lee ‘Fearless’ Eui-seok, and Lu ‘Diya’ Weida remain.

The following players have departed the roster:

  • Chen ‘Altering’ Yage
  • Xu ‘Freefeel’ Peixuan
  • Chen ‘Fiveking’ Zhaoyu
  • Jing ‘Roshan’ Wenhao
  • Liu ‘Xushu’ Junjie
  • Chon ‘Ado’ Gi-hyeon
  • He ‘Sky’ Junjian
  • Kim ‘Daemin’ Dae-min

While a major overhaul doesn’t come as a shock for a team that failed to win a single match in season one, the only surprise comes in the departure of DPS player Ado, who stood out as a bright spot even as the Dragons struggled.

Shanghai will have until September 9 to sign players via trade with existing Overwatch League teams, but with no other Chinese players in the league it seems likely that the Dragons will have to rebuild the majority of their roster with free agents.

Unfortunately for Shanghai, there will be an exclusive free agent signing window from September 9 to October 7 for new expansion teams. With at least one new Chinese team announced based in Guangzhou, and potentially more still to be revealed, it seems likely that a lot of China’s top talent will be taken before Shanghai is able to sign new players from October 8.

In addition to the major roster changes, Shanghai also seem to be overhauling their staff ahead of season two. It was also announced that head coach Son ‘Kong’ Jun-Young and analyst Jia ‘Nai8’ Jia have been released from the team.


Overwatch battle pass? Blizzard teases major changes for franchise

Published: 29/Oct/2020 23:00

by Nate Searl


An Activision Blizzard investor reveals that the Overwatch franchise is in for some major innovations that should help bring in consistent revenue. It sounds like the game might be getting a Battle Pass. 

Overwatch has been one of the most consistent games since its release back in 2016 with a very basic business model. The game has a set cost and the only microtransactions are loot boxes that provide cosmetic items.

New cosmetic items only come out during seasonal events, which are the same every year, and there isn’t currently any form of Battle Pass. According to an Activision Blizzard investor, the business model is going to change soon.

Is Overwatch getting a Battle Pass?

Most popular online multiplayer games like Fortnite, League of Legends, Valorant, etc. are free to play and have some form of Battle Pass that helps them bring in money. Overwatch never did this, and currently relies on game sales and loot box sales to bring in revenue.

Overwatch Battle Pass
Epic Games
What the Battle Pass looks like in Fortnite.

With Overwatch 2 on the horizon, Activision Blizzard will likely change their business model for the game. A Battle Pass would be a great solution. It gives players new cosmetics along with an extra incentive to play, and it gives Activision Blizzard a new way to profit off the franchise.

Battle Passes are generally great ways to get players involved in a game by giving them quests and other incentives to play while offering players exclusive cosmetic content to flex on their opponents with. In Overwatch, this could be skins, sprays, voice lines, highlight intros, or new items that haven’t been revealed yet.

Overwatch 2 surveys

Activision Blizzard has also sent out surveys about Overwatch 2. YouTuber Stylosa went over the survey, which asks questions about potential different features and editions of the game. It seems like they are mulling over several different ideas.

In addition to a potential Battle Pass, it seems like Overwatch 2 will have new ways to customize skins. This could mean changing the color of the skins or maybe changing clothing items or weapons like in Dota 2.

If Overwatch goes free-to-play when Overwatch 2 comes out, a Battle Pass seems inevitable. We will undoubtedly learn more about it in the coming months.