LA Valiant Announce Roster Changes Heading Into Season Two of the Overwatch League - Dexerto

LA Valiant Announce Roster Changes Heading Into Season Two of the Overwatch League

Published: 8/Sep/2018 0:41

by Joe O'Brien


The Los Angeles Valiant have announced which players they are releasing ahead of Overwatch League Season Two.

With September 8 being the deadline for extending player contracts for another year, the Valiant have announced that they wont be re-signing Sebastian ‘Numlocked’ Barton, Stefano ‘Verbo’ DiSalvo, or Finnbjörn ‘Finnsi’ Jónasson.

In addition, Christopher ‘GrimReality’ Schaefer will not be returning for the second season. GrimReality began Season One as a player for the team before transitioning into a position as an Assistant Coach.

Noah Winston, CEO of Los Angeles Valiant, said:

“We thank Numlocked, Verbo, Finnsi, and Grimreality for their contributions to the LA Valiant during Overwatch League’s inaugural season and wish them well in future endeavors.”

The Valiant were one of the strictest teams when it came to the consistency of their starting squad during Season One, using limited substitutions in key roles but otherwise rarely pulling from their bench. It comes as little surprise, then, that they have released a few of the players who saw among the least stage time in the league.

With eight brand-new teams joining the league for season two, it seems likely that players with experience in the Overwatch League environment – even those who rarely participated in official matches – will have a good chance of finding a new home for Season Two.

With unsigned players automatically going into free agency on September 9, the Los Angeles Valiant will likely be the last team to announce the release of players from their roster. Only London Spitfire have not released any players into free agency, and with the seven players on their roster having won the Season One trophy they seem very unlikely to do so.

The eight expansion teams will have an exclusive window from September 9 to October 7 to sign free agents. After that, all Overwatch League teams may sign free agents, and all teams must have a minimum eight-man roster by December 8.


Overwatch players freak out at Baptiste’s huge new Amplification Matrix

Published: 23/Oct/2020 17:30

by Michael Gwilliam


Baptiste was the recipient of plenty of buffs in the latest Overwatch Experimental Card, including a major change to the size of his Amplification Matrix that is freaking out the game’s community.

The October 22 patch increased the width of the Haitian hero’s ultimate by a whopping four meters – up to nine from its previous five.

Now, Baptiste’s “window” as the community calls it, looks more like a garage door bigger than any shield in the game by a fair margin.

Keep in mind that the whole purpose of the Amplification Matrix is to double the damage or healing of any shot fired through it. Now, it’s extremely unlikely that teammates will ever have a reason to not shoot through the ultimate as it’s near impossible to miss.

The community has been joking about the size increase. On Reddit, LukarWarrior joked, “Baptiste, now available in IMAX,” suggesting that it’s not as big as a movie theater screen.

Others, such as educational content creator SVB noted how the ultimate is wider than the streets on King’s Row.

That said, it has plenty of uses on other maps where its entire width can be put to good use. BlazeBubble9 documented how there are so many chokes where the new window can come in handy.

Baptiste on Numbani
Blizzard Entertainment
Baptiste’s new Amp Matrix can come in handy on Numbani.

For instance, while defending or attacking first point on Numbani, the new ultimate can take up a whole spot on the high ground letting a whole team fire at will onto the objective doing double damage.

In another, you can see how trying to gain or prevent access to the bridge on Eichenwalde second is a breeze with the new ultimate as it perfectly fits within the choke.

Baptiste's ultimate on Eichenwalde
Blizzard Entertainment
Pushing into Eichenwalde just got a bit easier.

Of course, because the change is on the Experimental Mode there’s a chance it doesn’t hit the live game, but in the past many of the buffs tested there end up going through, so players should prepare regardless.

Only time will tell if this ultimate buff changes how often players decide to pick the support in their matches.