All Six Overwatch League Season One Playoff Teams Have Been Confirmed - Dexerto

All Six Overwatch League Season One Playoff Teams Have Been Confirmed

Published: 16/Jun/2018 6:17 Updated: 20/May/2022 14:40

by Joe O'Brien


All six teams qualifying for the Overwatch League Season One Playoffs have been confirmed.

On the penultimate day of the regular season there was still a spot up for grabs, but losses for the Houston Outlaws and Seoul Dynasty mean that Philadelphia Fusion will clinch it.

[ad name=”article1″]

New York Excelsior were the first team to lock in a playoff spot, doing so before Stage 4 of the regular season even started, before guaranteeing themselves a trip to the semi-finals in just the second week of the final stage, topping the Pacific Division and the regular season as a whole.


Los Angeles Valiant’s surge in form for Stage 4 saw them become the second team to lock up a semi-final spot, securing their position as the number one team from the Atlantic Division.

Despite a weak fourth stage for both teams, strong records coming in for the Boston Uprising and the London Spitfire were enough to carry them through to a top-six finish as the season came to a close. Meanwhile, the Gladiators climbed their way in with their best stage of the season.

[ad name=”article2″]

The final spot came down to a fight between Philadelphia Fusion, Houston Outlaws, and Seoul Dynasty. The Fusion could have guaranteed the place with a win in their final match against London Spitfire, but ultimately losses for the Outlaws and the Dynasty in the final week put the Fusion out of reach regardless.



  • New York Excelsior
  • Los Angeles Valiant


  • Los Angeles Gladiators
  • Boston Uprising
  • London Spitfire
  • Philadelphia Fusion

[ad name=”article3″]

A total prize pool of $1.7 million will be on the line in the season playoffs, with first place taking home $1 million. Each playoff match will be a best-of-three of best-of-five series, meaning a team will have to win two series over their opponent to claim victory.

The bracket has yet to be drawn for the playoffs, and the exact final standings in the regular season could still fluctuate with the last games. The season playoffs will kick off on July 11th, with the grand finals taking place on July 27th-28th at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.