How to watch EVO Japan 2020 – Streams, schedule, more - Dexerto
Esports

How to watch EVO Japan 2020 – Streams, schedule, more

Published: 24/Jan/2020 17:58

by Kamil Malinowski

Share


Fighting games are back on the menu as the first major event of the year, Evolution Championship Series Japan, is well underway. 

Fighting game fans around the world have long been awaiting the next big event as, much like with other esports, there has been somewhat of a competitive break along with the holidays and the New Year.

However, the long wait is finally over as EVO Japan 2020 brings six different games to the main event. Fans of Tekken, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, Street Fighter, Samurai Shodown, Blazblue Cross Tag Battle, and Soul Calibur will definitely be in for a treat from Jan 24 – 26.

EVO
Fighting games are back as EVO 2020 kicks off.

The first two days of the event will feature mostly the open tournaments, with the playoff brackets being played on Saturday and finishing up on with the grand-finals on Sunday.

Most of the events will be played in a double-elimination system, meaning players will have to lose two series to be eliminated. When it comes to the finals, the player coming from the winner’s bracket will have the advantage, only having to win once, while the losers bracket player will need to win twice.

Evo Japan 2020 Streams

Evo Japan 2020 Main Stream

Evo Japan 2020 Stream 2

Evo Japan 2020 Stream 3

Evo Japan 2020 Stream 4

Evo Japan 2020 Schedule

Day 1 – Friday Jan 24

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition Tekken 7 Samurai Shodown Blazblue Cross Tag Battle Soul Calibur VI
Round 1 12:30AM GMT
07:30PM ET (Jan 23)
03:00AM GMT
10:00PM ET (Jan 23)
03:00AM GMT
10:00PM ET (Jan 23)
01:00AM GMT
08:00PM ET (Jan 23)
02:00AM GMT
09:00PM ET (Jan 23)
01:00AM GMT
08:00PM ET (Jan 23)
Round 2 05:00AM GMT
12:00AM ET
10:00AM GMT
05:00AM ET
06:00AM GMT
01:00AM ET
Round 3 07:00AM GMT
02:00AM ET 
11:30AM GMT
06:30AM ET 
08:00AM GMT
03:00AM ET 

Day 2 – Saturday Jan 25

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition Tekken 7 Samurai Shodown Blazblue Cross Tag Battle Soul Calibur VI
Round 2 01:00AM GMT
08:00PM ET (Jan 24)
04:30AM GMT
11:30PM ET (Jan 24)
12:00AM GMT
07:00PM ET (Jan 24)
Round 3 04:00AM GMT
11:00PM ET (Jan 24)
07:00AM GMT
02:00AM ET
02:00AM GMT
09:00PM ET (Jan 24)
Final 06:30AM GMT
01:30AM ET 
09:30AM GMT
04:30AM ET 
02:45AM GMT
09:45PM ET (Jan 24) 

Day 3 – Sunday Jan 26

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition Tekken 7
Final 03:30AM GMT
10:30PM ET (Jan 25)
07:30AM GMT
02:30AM ET 
12:00AM GMT
07:00PM ET (Jan 25)

Evo Japan 2020 Prize Pools

Evo prize pools are generally set depending on the game’s popularity, with the more popular games usually offering higher cash prizes. The breakdown for Evo Japan 2020 is as follows:

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

  • Winner: Nintendo Switch Pro Controller

Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition

  • Winner: 1,000,000 JPY (£6,980)
  • Runner up: 400,000 JPY (£2,792)
  • Third place: 200,000 JPY (£1,396)

Tekken 7

  • Winner: 1,000,000 JPY (£6,980)
  • Runner up: 400,000 JPY (£2,792)
  • Third place: 200,000 JPY (£1,396)

Samurai Shodown

  • Winner: 500,000 JPY (£3,491)
  • Runner up: 200,000 JPY (£1,396)
  • Third place: 100,000 JPY (£698)

Blazblue Cross Tag Battle

  • Winner: 500,000 JPY (£3,491)
  • Runner up: 200,000 JPY (£1,396)
  • Third place: 100,000 JPY (£698)

Soul Calibur VI

  • Winner: 500,000 JPY (£3,491)
  • Runner up: 200,000 JPY (£1,396)
  • Third place: 100,000 JPY (£698)

Make sure to tune into EVO Japan 2020 for some of the best fighting game action out there, in an even that will undoubtedly be one of the best of 2020.

Fortnite

Fortnite World Cup winner Aqua allegedly banned for FNCS stream-sniping

Published: 25/Oct/2020 0:00 Updated: 25/Oct/2020 1:12

by Theo Salaun

Share


Fortnite World Cup champion and Season 4 FNCS competitor, David ‘aqua’ Wang has been accused of stream-sniping and subsequently been punished by an alleged ban by Epic Games.

At 17 years old, aqua represented his home country of Austria to the fullest by winning the 2019 Fortnite World Cup’s Duos event with Norway’s Emil ‘Nyhrox’ Bergquist. With a smooth $1.5 million earned from the World Cup, he’s since signed with Cooler Esport and continued to win competitions across Europe.

Most recently, aqua’s trio (with Rezon and Noahreyli) have been participating in FNCS Europe and, following the Week 3 semis, have been accused of stream-sniping another popular trio: Benjy ‘Benjyfishy’ Fish, Martin ‘MrSavage’ Andersen, and Kevin ‘LeTsHe’ Fedjuschkin.

Although fans initially deemed aqua’s behavior suspicious, things quickly escalated. With Benjyfishy’s team unable to qualify for the Week 3 finals and the discovery that aqua was watching MrSavage’s stream during the competition, the controversy has spiraled.

mrsavage viewers aqua stream sniping
Twitch, @MrSavage
A screenshot of MrSavage’s Twitch stream showing that aqua was watching during the event.

Following condemnations of the World Cup winner’s team, rumors began circulating that aqua, Rezon, and Noahreyli had been banned by Epic Games from participating past the first match of the Finals. 

Although many fans were delighted to hear the news, it was never officially legitimized and has since been made even more unclear by responses from some of the involved parties.

After the rumor mill buzzed with the reports that aqua’s team was banned from competing, he took to Twitter and gave a concise clarification denying those allegations: “We are not banned, we just don’t wanna play. It’s boring without early fighting Benjy.”

Given the difficulty inherent to confirming someone was in fact stream-sniping and didn’t coincidentally run into a fellow streamer, many believe it is unlikely that the World Cup winner has actually been exiled from the competition.

Additionally, some have noted that bans typically result in removal from the leaderboard, something that aqua’s team has not been hit with.

 

As for how the players are handling it, aqua and Benjyfishy have simply joked about the incident for hours. Neither side appears to be nearly as angry as some fans have been, instead, laughing at the drama and sharing memes.

 

While whatever’s going on behind the scenes may remain unclear, all players involved are more than good enough to qualify for the Season 4 FNCS Finals at some point, if they haven’t already, so it seems that no one’s really that bothered by the situation, ban or no ban.

We will continue to update this article with more details as they become available.