Bryce Hall confirms Sway House is moving after address leak - Dexerto
Entertainment

Bryce Hall confirms Sway House is moving after address leak

Published: 2/Jul/2020 3:01 Updated: 2/Jul/2020 10:57

by Andrew Amos

Share


Sway House’s unofficial leader and TikTok star Bryce Hall has confirmed that their Los Angeles address has been leaked, and that the group will be moving elsewhere for privacy reasons.

The Sway House is one of TikTok’s biggest content creator groups. Led by Bryce Hall and his 10 million followers, they’ve been keeping fans entertained all through quarantine.

However, some of their loyal followers have been getting a bit too close and personal. According to Hall, the Sway House address has been leaked and spread far and wide, forcing the group’s hand. They’ll be moving out soon to a new location.

Sway House members
Instagram: swayla
The Sway House is moving after their address was leaked, according to Bryce Hall.

Hall discussed with ET’s Katie Krause the ups and downs of being a social media star. He acknowledged that while he loves the spotlight and creating content, he sometimes feels like “a zoo animal” with fans watching his every move.

“I feel like a zoo animal sometimes, and being watched, and any little thing I do or say could be portrayed in a negative way. That sucks,” he said in a June 30 interview.

Hall added that it wasn’t just people watching his every action in public, or on social media. The Sway House address was “leaked” some time ago, and since then, people have been rocking up uninvited trying to interact with the stars.

“With the zoo animal thing ⁠— our address [at the Sway House] has leaked. There’s people looking through our windows, knocking on our doors.

“Love our fans, and love all the support that everyone gives. I’d love to take pictures outside at the mall or anywhere in public, but at our house is kind of excessive.”

The relevant topic begins at 15:25

This isn’t a new thing. Anthony Reeves, another member of the Sway House, has mentioned fans have been “invading” their privacy since May.

“I don’t wanna be a d**k but basically the only privacy we get is it at the house and it’s being taken away,” he tweeted. “Just walking up and trying to record the inside or record us in our house is also very weird. Please stop.”

To put all their fears to rest, the Sway House is moving. Hall confirmed that during his interview with ET, but didn’t say anything else on the matter ⁠— not when they’ll move, nor whether they’ll be staying in LA or moving elsewhere.

However, fans will probably be able to spot it when their videos all of a sudden take place in a new location. Hall, and the other members, have asked fans to respect their privacy when they move though, and they’ll be doing their best to keep their new address under wraps.

Entertainment

How to turn off DMs on TikTok

Published: 23/Oct/2020 17:57

by Jacob Hale

Share


TikTok has undeniably become a great way for people to find the content they like, make new friends and connect with like-minded people, just like any social media platform does — but you might want a bit more privacy on the app, and turning off Direct Messages might be the perfect solution.

You might want to turn DMs off for any number of reasons. You might be getting spammed, or receiving unwanted messages, and you want to block them out completely.

By default TikTok lets you share DMs with Friends on the app, or someone that you follow and follows you back.

But you can change the settings to better suit you if you don’t want to receive direct messages at all, regardless of the reason you want to prevent them.

David Dobrik TikTok page
TikTok
If you’re getting unwanted DMs, it’s possible to turn them off.

How to turn off TikTok DMs

If you would prefer that you can’t be reached out to at all on TikTok, the process of changing your settings is actually really simple.

To stop even ‘Friends’ from DMing you on TikTok and closing them completely, here’s what you’ve got to do:

  1. Open your TikTok app.
  2. Click on the ‘Me’ tab.
  3. Press the three dots in the top right corner of the screen to access your Settings and Privacy.
  4. Click Privacy.
  5. Scroll down and, under the ‘Safety’ list, press ‘Who can send you direct messages’.
  6. Change the setting from Friends to No one.
TikTok direct message settings turn off
TikTok
It’s very easy to turn off your DMs on TikTok.

After doing this, your direct messages will be closed off to everyone on the app, whether you follow them or not.

This is perfect if you’re getting spammed or receiving unwanted messages, especially from people you don’t know, and if you don’t want to unfollow them.

How to remove followers

As mentioned, one alternative to closing your direct messages (if you want to leave them open to friends) is by removing followers. This could mean either unfollowing the user, or removing them as one of your followers. Here’s how to do either of the above:

To unfollow a user:

  • Go to that user’s profile
  • Tap the “Following” icon
  • You should now no longer be following them

To remove a user from your followers:

  • Go to that user’s profile
  • Tap the three dots in the top right corner
  • Tap “Remove this follower”

By following any of the above steps, you can completely turn off your DMs on TikTok, or just stop certain people from reaching out to you. Please also bear in mind that, if somebody is bothering you on the platform, you should also report them to let TikTok know so they can take appropriate action.