Can you unsend a message on TikTok?
The direct messaging feature on TikTok is used by millions of people each day to communicate with other users on the app — but is there a way to delete a message once you’ve sent it? Here’s what you need to know.
If you’re anything like us, you spend a good amount of time scrolling through your For You Page. Sometimes, you come across a video that reminds you of someone, so you naturally head to the DMs and share it with them using the private message feature.
But what if you send a video to the wrong person? Many of us have had that moment of panic when we realize we’ve sent a message to the wrong person — but is there a way to delete a direct message once you’ve sent it?
Can you delete messages on TikTok?
Unfortunately, you currently cannot ‘unsend’ a message on TikTok.
When you press and hold a message you’ve sent in the inbox tab, you are given the option to ‘delete’ it; however, this doesn’t actually delete the message for the recipient.
If you delete a TikTok message does it unsend it?
As the TikTok website states: “If you delete a chat or direct message it only deletes it for you. The person you sent the messages to can still see the messages.”
It’s not clear whether the ability to delete a message on both ends will be made available in the future, but for now, you’ll only be able to remove messages from your own device.
If you want to learn more about how to use TikTok, you can check out our other guides here: