OpTic Gaming's Scump reveals major role change during CWL Pro League - Dexerto
Call of Duty

OpTic Gaming’s Scump reveals major role change during CWL Pro League

Published: 6/Feb/2019 21:03 Updated: 7/Feb/2019 2:11

by Wyatt Donigan

Share


With OpTic Gaming currently playing without Brandon ‘Dashy’ Otell due to travel issues, Seth ‘Scump’ Abner has shed light on a change of roles on the team for the CWL Pro League.

When it was first announced that Tommy ‘ZooMaa’ Paparatto would be stepping in for Dashy during the first two weeks of the CWL Pro League, many wondered how the SMG player would slot into OpTic’s lineup.

While the team managed to get through their first two matches with a 1-1 record without changing their roles, that will change when OpTic Gaming takes the stage on February 6.

In a tweet posted a few hours before their match against Evil Geniuses, Scump confirmed that he’d be running the Maddox instead of Saug 9mm during their next match.

Advertisement

The move is one that many had speculated would eventually come since both Scump and ZooMaa usually run SMGs.

With Scump now moving over to the Maddox, ZooMaa will likely able to move more freely in the role he’s most comfortable in.

Since Scump announced the move on Twitter, it didn’t take long for Evil Geniuses’ Adam ‘GodRx’ Brown to notice it and reply, letting Scump and OpTic know that they’d be ready for the change.

Given OpTic Gaming’s somewhat slow start to the CWL Pro League, the move should only help them get into a rhythm during the opening week.

Advertisement

After beginning the Pro League with a 3-0 defeat at the hands of Midnight Esports, OpTic were almost reverse swept by UYU on February 5 before holding on with a 3-2 win.

The move seemingly paid off against Evil Geniuses, as OpTic picked up an easy 3-0 sweep. 

OpTic Gaming will close out their week against Team Reciprocity on February 7 at 1:30pm PST / 4:30pm EST / 9:30pm GMT.