Evil Geniuses Win the 2018 CWL Championship

In the biggest underdog victory in the history of the event, Evil Geniuses are the world champions of the WWII season.

Evil Geniuses were barely even on the radar as potential champions, but after defeating Team Kaliber in the grand finals they claim the trophy and the $600,000 first place prize that comes with it.

[ad name=”article1″]

In the first series of the grand finals Evil Geniuses took a 2-0 lead, but Team Kaliber pulled off a reverse sweep to force a second best-of-five. Once again EG were able to go up 2-0, and this time they didn’t let tK come back, closing it out in Capture the Flag for the 3-0 sweep and the championship.

Article continues after ad

In the group stage Evil Geniuses were only a single map away from being eliminated from the tournament, pulling off a miraculous 3-0 sweep of OpTic Gaming to eliminate the defending world champions and reach the playoffs.

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech

[ad name=”article2″]

Once there, Evil Geniuses marched through the winner bracket to the grand finals, taking down Team Vitality, Lightning Pandas, Team Envy, and Team Kaliber, before defeating Team Kaliber for a second time in the grand final to claim the trophy.

Article continues after ad

With this win, both Patrick ‘Aches’ Price and Bryan ‘Apathy’ Zhelyazkov have earned their second championship rings, joining Jordan ‘JKap’ Kaplan and Ian ‘Crimsix’ Porter as two-time winners of the most prestigious event in Call of Duty. Damon ‘Karma’ Barlow remains unmatched as a three-time winner.

Meanwhile, Justin ‘SiLLY’ Fargo and Adam ‘Assault’ Garcia collect their first rings, becoming the seventeenth and eighteenth players to count themselves as Call of Duty world champions.