Apex Legends ranks explained: Ranked Reloaded, splits, & tiers in order

Alex Garton
Apex Legends Loba Prowler

Apex Legends Ranked can be a difficult system to understand at first, but once you’re familiar with the ranks, tiers, and RP rewards, you’ll be ready to start your climb to Predator.

Apex Legends is a competitive game at its heart and the majority of the players enter every single match looking to take home the victory with their squad.

Of course, when playing in standard lobbies, it can be difficult to know where you stand in the overall community when it comes to skill.

That’s why Respawn added the Ranked mode to Apex so players can queue against opponents of a similar level and rise up through the ranks.

However, in order to effectively climb in Ranked, you’ll need to be familiar with each of the Apex Legends ranks, RP costs & rewards, and of course, the huge changes that arrived back in Season 13.


What are the Apex Legends ranks?

In Apex Legends Ranked, competitors are distributed into one of eight ranks that they can rise or fall down depending on the amount of RP they lose or gain.

It’s worth noting that players cannot be demoted to the Rookie rank that was added in Season 13, as it’s a one-time-only tier that acts as an introductory rank for new players.

To promote from Rookie to Bronze, you need to reach 1,000 RP. If you do not ever hit the Bronze milestone, you’ll be placed back in Rookie for the next season.

You can check out all of the Apex Legends ranks below and the RP requirements needed to reach each of the tiers:

Rank tier RP Required
Rookie N/A (Introductory tier for new players)
Bronze 1,000
Silver 3,000
Gold 5,400
Platinum 8,200
Diamond 11,400
Master 15,000
Apex Predator Top 750 players on each platform

Just as reaching each new threshold will cause you to promote, dropping below the assigned RP number will trigger you to demote to the tier below. Keep in mind, that once you move up to a new tier, you’ll have 3 games of demotion protection, but once these matches are over you’re once again at risk of moving down.

Climbing the Apex Legends ranks can take the majority of players a long time, so remember to be patient and focus on sharpening your skills.

How to earn Apex Legends Ranked Points

The total RP earned by a player in Ranked is determined each match by overall placement and total kills. This includes the eliminations your teammates rack up, netting you 50% of the standard RP for a kill of your own.

Keep in mind, you don’t receive RP for heals or revives and there isn’t a cap on how many kills earn you RP, but then after each takedown, you’ll earn increasingly less.

How much RP does it cost to play Apex Legends Ranked?

As you would expect, playing a Ranked match will cost you a set amount of RP depending on where you’re sitting on the ladder.

The higher your rank, the more you pay as you would be expected to play better and rack up more kills as you progress.

You can check out all the RP costs below:


  • Bronze IV: 15 RP
  • Bronze III: 18 RP
  • Bronze II: 21 RP
  • Bronze I: 24 RP


  • Silver IV: 27 RP
  • Silver III: 30 RP
  • Silver II: 33 RP
  • Silver I: 36 RP


  • Gold IV: 39 RP
  • Gold III: 42 RP
  • Gold II: 45 RP
  • Gold I: 48 RP


  • Platinum IV: 51 RP
  • Platinum III: 54 RP
  • Platinum II: 57 RP
  • Platinum I: 60 RP


  • Diamond IV: 63 RP
  • Diamond III: 66 RP
  • Diamond II: 69 RP
  • Diamond I: 72 RP

Master and Predator

  • 75 RP, with 5 RP added every 1,000 RP beyond the Master Threshold, this caps at 175 RP.

What are Apex Legends Ranked splits?

Every Ranked Season in Apex Legends is separated into two splits with a soft reset occurring in the middle of the current season.

When this reset occurs, players are pushed back 1.5 tiers to encourage them to keep climbing and rising up through the ranks. Not only that, but the split also replaces the current map in rotation with a new one.

For example, as Broken Moon is the current map for Ranked in Season 15, this will be switched to Olympus when the new split starts

Apex Legends Ranked rewards

Rewards in Apex Legends Ranked have been a controversial topic for a long time, as players would like to see Respawn implement exclusive cosmetics for those who reach certain tiers.

However, for the time being, the rewards only include icons, gun charms, and dive trials. You can check out the full list below:

  • Ranked Icon (All players)
  • Ranked Icon Gun Charm (All players)
  • Diamond Dive Trail (Diamond tier)
  • Masters Dive Trail (Masters tier)
  • Predator Dive Trail (Predator tier)

What are the best Legends to use in Apex Legends Ranked?

Valkyrie Apex Legends
Valkyrie was added to Apex Legends back in Season 9.

Picking a Legend to main and use in Ranked can be a challenge with so many characters on the roster, especially with the meta always evolving.

So, we recommend you check out our Legend tier list that we update on a regular basis. That way, you can stay ahead of the competition and always have the advantage over your opponents.

Don’t forget to check out alphaINTEL for all the latest Apex Legends news and updates.

About The Author

Alex Garton is a former writer for Dexerto. He has a BA in English Literature and has been a Games Writer for over four years. He has previously written for Gfinity and TOP10Esports. Specializing in Call of Duty and Apex Legends, he also enjoys diving into new releases to create informative guides.