The First Teams Have Qualified for the 2018 Overwatch World Cup Playoffs - Dexerto

The First Teams Have Qualified for the 2018 Overwatch World Cup Playoffs

Published: 21/Aug/2018 3:15 Updated: 21/Aug/2018 3:16

by Joe O'Brien


The first two nations have qualified for the playoffs of the 2018 Overwatch World Cup.

The group stages of the World Cup have begun, with the first taking place in Incheon, South Korea. Over the course of four group stages, each taking place in a different country, the 32 World Cup teams will be narrowed down to just eight for the final playoffs.


Eight teams travelled to Incheon to battle for just two places in the World Cup playoffs, which will take place at Blizzcon on November 2-3. At the end of the round-robin, South Korea and Finland had booked their spots at the playoffs.

Both teams were the favorites to make it out of the group stage, which also featured Russia, Japan, Taiwan, and Hong Kong.


South Korea are the reigning Overwatch World Champions, having won the event in both 2016 and 2017. The roster they fielded for the group stage featured primarily members of the New York Excelsior, and was able to end the weekend undefeated.

Finland did give them an incredibly close game, however, pushing them all the way to a fifth map in what was undoubtedly the highlight series of the stage. Finland is another team touted for a potential deep run at the World Cup playoffs, as one of only a few nations aside from South Korea that is able to pull from a deep roster of Overwatch League players.

Incheon Qualifier final placements:

  1. South Korea
  2. Finland
  3. Russia
  4. Japan
  5. Taiwan
  6. Hong Kong

Overwatch meets WarCraft with epic RTS custom game mode

Published: 7/Oct/2020 0:12

by Bill Cooney


Overwatch and RTS games like WarCraft and StarCraft might seem like complete opposites, but the two styles have been combined into a very promising-looking Workshop mode that lets you control multiple heroes as if they were individual units.

If we look at Blizzard games like one big family tree, then the StarCraft and Warcraft franchises could probably be considered something like Overwatch’s grandparents.


Back in the day StarCraft especially was one of the biggest esports on the planet, but the RTS genre has sadly fallen to wayside in recent years. Both still have dedicated communities though (even after the disaster that was Reforged) and it’s safe to say a good number also play Overwatch now as well.

Irish Overwatch manager Andygmb clearly hasn’t outgrown his love for real-time strategy, not that one ever does, decided to take the top down style from those games and apply it to all of our favorite heroes using Josbird’s cursor tool in the Workshop mode.


Demo of a MOBA / RTS style control scheme in the Workshop! The possibilities with the workshop are endless! from Overwatch

You can scroll around the map, and drag the map to select multiple units and control them all at once. Like an RTS game, you can tell them where to go, and when to attack something.

Right off the top of our heads if they ever were to make an Overwatch game like this, we’d wager that Roadhog rush would be a great opening build to start with.

But it doesn’t take much to imagine a League of Legends-style game as well being made playable with this type of game either. Sure, Blizzard already has Heroes of the Storm, but that only features a few Overwatch heroes to choose from, where this could add the whole roster.

Overwatch heroes 2020
Blizzard Entertainment
Overwatch has over 30 different heroes that could make all kinds of different units.

With Heroes of the Storm already existing (and producing cooler skins for D.Va than Overwatch itself) our chances of seeing an official RTS featuring the game’s heroes are unfortunately slim to none.

That has never stopped players before though, so we’d keep our eyes out for some kind of League clone to appear before too long on the Custom Game browser. Until then, you can always waste more time playing Among Us there as well.