Every Super Nintendo game coming to Nintendo Switch Online at launch - Dexerto

Every Super Nintendo game coming to Nintendo Switch Online at launch

Published: 4/Sep/2019 22:50 Updated: 4/Sep/2019 23:13

by Bill Cooney


Nintendo has announced that 20 classic SNES games will become available on the Switch starting this fall.

Fans had speculated that Nintendo could bring SNES games to the switch like they did with the NES, but until the September 4 Direct, we had no idea what games could be included.


We now know that there will be 20 SNES games released to the Switch at first, with more to follow later on.

F-ZERO was one of the SNES games announced for the Switch.

The full list of SNES games coming to the Nintendo Switch this fall is listed below:

  • Demon Quest
  • Joe & Mac 2: Lost in the Tropics
  • Kirby’s Dream Land 3
  • Star Fox
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island
  • Super Puyo Puyo 2
  • Super Tennis
  • Breath of Fire
  • F-ZERO
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • Pilotwings
  • Stunt Race FX
  • Super Ghouls and Ghosts
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Soccer
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

NintendoThe complete list of SNES games coming to the Switch.

Will there be more games coming?

Nintendo confirmed that more SNES games would be available on Switch in the future, but didn’t say exactly when they would be coming out.

The Super Nintendo games coming to Switch will feature local multiplayer, and the option to play games online with friends as well.

NintendoSuper Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island was also announced.

What else was in the Sept. 4 Nintendo Direct?

The latest Direct also gave us a ton of information on new and upcoming fighters for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.


Along with the freshly-revealed Terry from Fists of Fury, Nintendo also confirmed that even more DLC fighters would be coming after the Fighter Pass.

Terry from Fists of Fury was one of the new fighters announced during the Direct.

So with SNES games coming to the Switch and everything else revealed during the Direct, Nintendo fans have a lot to look forward to.


Jeff Kaplan reveals his ideal competitive Overwatch meta

Published: 8/Oct/2020 3:13

by Theo Salaun


Blizzard Entertainment’s Vice President and Overwatch’s beloved Game Director Jeff Kaplan has revealed what he thinks is the ideal competitive meta for the expansive title.

Overwatch exists in many forms, from its highest ranks to its lowest, but the game’s competitive meta at the professional level has also varied greatly since the original release back in May 2016. 


In the olden days, teams prioritized dive compositions led by Winston’s jumps and Tracer’s blinks. Then, in 2019, fans around the world either groaned or cheered as the divisive GOATS meta took center-stage, featuring a hefty squad built entirely with tanks and supports. 

Now, Kaplan is explaining his perspective on the game’s ideal state, following criticisms he levied back in July against the game’s double-shield reliance. Examining the game’s departure from a static, Orisa and Sigma-dependent environment, he dissects his compository ideology. 

Brigitte stuns Junkrat on Volskaya
Blizzard Entertainment
Barriers have held an uncomfortably powerful role in Overwatch for a long time.

As discussed in an interview with the Loadout, Kaplan is both aware of the professional scene’s interests and the casual base’s tendencies. Coupling those factors, he believes the game is at its best when there is some blend of high skill caps and diverse team compositions.

“The most ideal, healthiest state of the game is when the meta is somewhat fluid, when the meta is more map dependent or team match up dependent than it is static. We’ve all seen those moments when the meta has been completely static and all six players will just play the same six heroes every time. I think that’s fun from a mastery standpoint, but I think it’s a lot more exciting for viewers when creativity and curiosity come into play,” he said.

When Kaplan refers to a “static” meta, the simplest example is 2019’s GOATS, where three healers (Brigitte, Lucio, and Moira) were coupled with three tanks (D.Va, Reinhardt, and Zarya) and would barrel into opponents.


It took tremendous teamwork to be pulled off successfully against other professional teams, but many fans considered it more tedious than entertaining after months of gameplay.

In its current state, Overwatch is not completely balanced, but there is a degree of variety to it. That diversity seen in the Overwatch League spans downward into the casual ranks. Kaplan indicates that this is in line with his department’s hopes.

“I think most of our players would say in the ideal meta, all our heroes would be viable in some way competitively. I think as a competitive goal from a game designing and game balancing perspective that is extremely challenging, but it’s obviously what we strive to achieve.”


While he assures that Overwatch would be completely balanced in an ideal world, in the meantime, his team would at least like to push toward a game that varies to some extent based on coaching, player preference, and map.

It remains to be seen if current and upcoming patches can accomplish that, but Kaplan’s emphasis on “fluidity” is a welcome driving force.