FIFA 20 eWorld Cup & Global Series canceled - Dexerto

FIFA 20 eWorld Cup & Global Series canceled

Published: 12/Jun/2020 16:58 Updated: 12/Jun/2020 17:41

by David Purcell


EA SPORTS have revealed that their eWorld Cup, eNations Cup, and remaining Global Series matches have all been canceled, making way for a brand new Summer Cup Series that will be completely online. 

The game’s competitive scene, just like Call of Duty, CS:GO, League of Legends, and other major games, has seen its original competitive event schedule scuppered in the midst of the current global situation.

Those who were set to continue course in the FCC Stage VI will receive $3,125 each following the cancelation, which is a $200,000 prize pool split across all 64 that were set to take part. Not only that, but those that were included in the FGS 20 rankings will also be handed a total of $350,000 per platform ($700,000 in total).

EA SPORTS’ new tournament reveal will be good news for those looking to get back into competitive matches at the highest level.

In a statement from their online blog on June 12, they said: “This $700,000 in prizing includes the $500,000 in prizing from the Playoffs in addition to the $200,000 from FUT Champions Cup Stage V.”

The full rankings will be posted on June 17 and will be final, with competitors being contacted about rewards in the next 60 days – EA confirmed.

FIFA 20 Summer Cup Series confirmed

The biggest FIFA 20 event on the normal calendar would be the eWorld Cup, but with that now canceled alongside other tournaments, the Summer Cup Series will give players something to look forward to – for sure.

It will take place across July and August, broadcast to the official EA SPORTS FIFA Twitch channel.

These will be remotely produced tournaments online, with top-tier competitors locking horns. The start date is July 17, and it will come to a close on August 9. For each region, a champion will be crowned (Europe, North America, South America, Asia, Oceania, and the Middle East).

Competitive events in FIFA 20 aren’t far away now.

The statement also reads: “The top EA SPORTS FIFA 20 competitors from both platforms, based on EA SPORTS FIFA 20 Global Series Rankings, will be invited to compete in the Summer Cup Series, which will be played exclusively on PlayStation 4 and have $228,000 in prizes available.

“The European Summer Cup will have 24 competitors invited and $78,000 in prizes. The other five regions will each have eight competitors invited and $30,000 in prizes. Additional details will be announced soon.”


How Stanislaw became NA CSGO’s greatest leader

Published: 28/Nov/2020 20:36 Updated: 28/Nov/2020 22:06

by Alan Bernal


Peter ‘stanislaw’ Jarguz has been one of CSGO’s most impressive in-game leaders for years, leading teams to extremely impressive highs and, at times, disappointing lows. His persistence through myriad successes and failures has earned him the title of the region’s best IGL.

An all-around in-game leader is hard to come by. While Europe has its fair share of talent like Aleksi ‘Aleksib’ Virolainen or Lukas ‘gla1ve’ Rossander, NA has historically been lacking in that department.

A 20-year-old Stanislaw burst on the scene in 2014 with fantastic aim and cheeky tactics. Through tumultuous roster relocations, he eventually landed on Conquest where consistent results were stacking up.

It wasn’t until the Greenwall had picked him up alongside Will ‘RUSH’ Wierzba, Damian ‘daps’ Steele, Shahzeeb ‘ShahZaM’ Khan, and Keith ‘NAF’ Markovic, where CSGO crowds started to learn his name.

Through all the odds, this team would eventually qualify for the ESL Cologne Major. But after fizzling out in the group stage, there were a few roster changes in the OpTic lineup that saw stanislaw ousted from the team, just to eventually return a while later.

But this is the part in stan’s journey where he notably led the way to victories with his rifle as well as his tactical prowess on teams like Evil Geniuses. With the tactical side of CSGO taken care of, he resorted to focusing on himself to avoid being a detriment to the team.

Usually, IGLs aren’t expected to collect a lot of frags, but the NA leader defied convention throughout his career to be a potent threat on all parts of the map.