How to watch Twitch $50k PogChamps Chess event: Stream, schedule, more - Dexerto
Entertainment

How to watch Twitch $50k PogChamps Chess event: Stream, schedule, more

Published: 12/Jun/2020 16:03

by Connor Bennett

Share


A number of Twitch stars have been trying their hand at Chess in the Chess.Com PogChamps event. Here is everything you need to know about who is playing and how you can watch along with the action.

While Twitch is usually home to the top-level gaming action, there are plenty of subcategories for viewers and streamers to explore. In recent weeks, the Chess category has been booming as a number of Grandmasters like Hikaru Nakamura and Benjamin Finegold have picked up momentum on Twitch.

As a result, Chess.Com have been holding their $50,000 PogChamps tournament with a number of big streamers taking part. Here’s what you need to know. 

Instagram/xqcow1
xQc has been getting checkmated in a tiny number of moves in Chess.

Who is playing in the Chess.com PogChamps event?

The PogChamps event got underway back on June 5 with a wide variety of streamers getting involved. Hugely popular Twitch streamers xQc, Yassuo, NymN, Forsen, BoxBox, NateHill, and Fuslie have been joined by other broadcasters Erobb, Hutch, moistCr1tikal, xChocobars, Papaplatte, Swiftor, Sliker, and Ludwig. 

As a result, the Chess.Com event streams have become some of the most popular on Twitch, with Hikaru and other grandmasters commentating on the action – while also offering up some advice to the streamers afterward games.

Chess PogChamps stream

As noted, the Chess.com stream is where you can find the main broadcast with Hikaru and his fellow grandmasters giving insight during games. Though, the streamers have been using their own channels as well.

You can find the main broadcast embedded below so you don’t have to move a muscle if you actually want to watch the games.

Chess.com PogChamps schedule

As of writing, the event’s group stage has almost come to its conclusion, with a championship and consolation bracket in the offing once the groups have been finished. 

Group’s B, C, and D have two games left each with the first getting underway at 9 pm BST/4 pm EST/1 pm PST/10 pm CEST and the second at 10 pm BST/5 pm EST/2 pm PST/11 pm CEST. 

Date Game Time
June 12 moistCr1tikal vs yassuo 1 pm PST
June 12 xQc vs Hutch 2 pm PST
June 13 NymN vs Forsen 1 pm PST
June 13 xChocobars vs ItsSliker 2 pm PST
June 14 Papaplatte vs boxbox 1 pm PST
June 14 Ludwig vs Swift0r 2 pm PST

Players have the chance to earn some cash for their efforts – no matter how poorly they may have done. The four group winners will each net themselves $1,000 with the remaining $36,000 split between the championship and consolation brackets. 

Championship Bracket: 8 players, $30,000 prize pool

  • Chess.com PogChamps Winner: $10,000
  • 2nd Place: $6,000
  • Semifinalist (2): $3,000
  • Quarterfinalist (4): $2,000

Consolation Bracket: 8 players, $16,000 prize pool 

  • 1st Place: $4,000
  • 2nd Place: $3,000
  • Semifinalist (2): $2,000
  • Quarterfinalist (4): $1,250

As the event comes to its conclusion on June 19, you’ll be able to find final placements on Dexerto and see how your favorite streamer got on with their competitive Chess exploits.

Entertainment

Bryce Hall puts Quen Blackwell on blast after Griffin Johnson TikTok drama

Published: 18/Nov/2020 4:59

by Brad Norton

Share


Following on from Quen Blackwell and Griffin Johnson’s social media clash, Bryce Hall has now jumped into the mix and lashed back at the original post that kickstarted the feud.

If you’re not up to speed on the latest TikTok kerfuffle, don’t stress. Here’s a quick refresher. Two days ago social media celeb Quen Blackwell reacted to a TikTok post featuring Bryce Hall and Addison Rae.

Their relationship has been hot and cold throughout most of the year. Blackwell took the opportunity to joke about the on-again, off-again couple, yelling “no” at the top of lungs in her own post. While Johnson was the first to take issue with her comedic reaction, Hall has now fired back as well.

Rather than calling her out on social media, however, Hall allegedly got in touch and hashed it out directly. It’s clear that things didn’t go down all too well between the pair as he’s since gone on to expose their private conversation.

@quenblackwell##stitch with @addisonre♬ original sound – quenblackwell

“So I confronted her and talked about it,” he said. As it turns out, Blackwell was forthcoming with her intentions. “I only do this for likes and being relatable,” she explained, according to Hall.

“I get it, you’re just doing it for numbers. It had like 1.5 million likes, I get it,” Hall assured. As social media personalities, both have their own audiences and both create content to generate engagement. While that TikTok may have struck a nerve at first, it seemed as though they were able to get on the same page in their chat.

That mutual respect didn’t stand for all too long though. Blackwell claimed she wouldn’t do it again, though that wasn’t the case as she touched on the subject 24 hours later before deleting her videos. “It’s so fake,” Hall said in response.

“Now that she’s deleted the videos, we’re friends again. We’re gonna be like the rest of these social media people and just act as though nothing happens behind the scenes.”


Clearly not too pleased with how the drama unfolded, Hall can at least respect that Blackwell deleted her latest videos. At the time of writing, this seems to be the end of the controversy. Though it could all kick off once more if Blackwell goes back on her word yet again.

We’ll be sure to keep you updated if the latest TikTok drama continues to explode across social media.