PUBG's new ranking system explained - How does it work? - Dexerto

PUBG’s new ranking system explained – How does it work?

Published: 4/Oct/2018 15:32 Updated: 4/Oct/2018 16:09

by Matt Porter


The much anticipated Update 22 for PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds has gone live, bringing with it a brand new ranking system.

[ad name=”article1″]

First announced in the Update #22 Patch Notes, ranked play will begin with 10 placement matches – players will earn or lose ‘Rank Points’ based on their performance in-game.

Players will then be placed into one of the eight different ranks, and will be able to move up and down ranks depending on the amount of Rank Points they have.

[ad name=”article2″]

The new ranking system features eight ranks, starting at Bronze and working their way up to Grand Master. The full ranking progression is:


  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum 
  • Diamond
  • Elite
  • Master
  • Grand Master

PUBG Corporation believes that the introduction of ranked play will lead to “fiercer competition” as players “put everything they’ve learned to the test as they climb the ranks.” 

[ad name=”article3″]

Ranked play is a feature that fans of PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds have been requesting for a long time,  now they will get ready to find out exactly how good they really are. 

The new ranking system officially went live with the release of Update #22, which included the return of map selections, allowing players to choose where they would like the action to take place.  A Quick Join button has also been included for players who are happy to take on any terrain, which will throw players into the first available match regardless of map. 


Also integrated into the update is a new way to trade up your skins in-game. Players can select multiple items of the same tier, and trade them in for a brand new skin at the next highest tier.

Update #22 is officially live, and available for players on PC right now. There is currently no information as to when Update #22 will go live on other platforms.