Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
Pokemon • Jun 30, 2019

Pokemon Go celebrate 3rd birthday with huge bonuses

Pokemon Go celebrate 3rd birthday with huge bonuses
Pokemon

It feels like Pokemon Go has already been around forever but its 3rd birthday is already approaching - and to celebrate Niantic are holding a special event which of course includes numerous in-game bonuses.

Advertisement

Bonuses are already live in Pokemon Go and they range from shiny Pokemon, special avatar items, special research items, raid bonuses, discounts and the return of a familiar Pikachu.

Party Pikachu

You can encounter Pikachu wearing his party hat when you take a GO Snapshot photo. Much like similar bonuses in past events, you can only encounter this special Pikachu once per day.

EZDBud
Several Pikachu will photobomb you once a day - Party Pikachu will appear shortly after...

Advertisement

Party Pikachu will be available from June 28, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST) to July 6, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST).

That's not all though, if you're lucky you might find Pichu wearing a party hat when hatching a 7km egg.

Advertisement

Shiny Alolan Pokemon

The following Alolan Pokemon and their respective evolved forms can all be found in their shiny form:

  • Rattata
  • Sandshrew
  • Vulpix
  • Diglett
  • Meowth
  • Geodude
  • Grimer
  • Exeggutor

Shiny Alolan Raichu has been available in raids previous to this event.

These Pokemon are already available but Niantic didn't list a time when their appearances would stop.

Pokemon
Shiny Alolan Pokemon are now available as part of the third anniversary celebrations...

Jump-start research, raid bosses and stardust discount

All of the below bonuses run from June 28, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST) to September 2, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST).

Even some of the more committed Pokemon Go trainers go through periods where they want a break from the game - others may have taken an extended break. Regardless, the new Jump-Start research will allow trainers who have been absent for a while to jump straight back into the game and catch up with some generous rewards.

For players Level 10 or higher there is new special research quest which requires completing relatively easy tasks such as making a new friend and hatching an egg. Upon completion of all six stages you will earn at least 60,000 stardust and 405,000 XP.

Elsewhere, and while the details weren't specified exactly, you will be able to take down raid bosses faster during the event, earning extra Premier Balls to capture them in the process.

Finally, trading Pokemon will cost 25% less stardust.

That's quite the set of bonuses to celebrate Pokemon Go's 3rd birthday - imagine the celebration events for its 5th anniversary!

Here's something new from Dexerto: Why Hungrybox uses JIGGLYPUFF (Ep.3) - A Smash God Documentary

Read more about:
Pokemon Go