The National Committees for the Overwatch World Cup Have Been Decided

Joe O'Brien

The National Committees for the Overwatch World Cup have been announced.

Made up of a General Manager, a Coach, and a Community Lead, the national committees will select, train, and manage their respective national teams for the 2018 Overwatch World Cup.

The general managers were selected for each country by Blizzard themselves, but both the Coach and Community Lead positions were decided by vote. The top 150 players for each country could vote for the Coach, but anybody could vote for their country’s Community Lead.

The Overwatch World Cup features 24 teams, 20 of which qualified based on the average rank of the top 150 players in each country, while the four host nations of the group stages automatically qualified. Those group stages will each feature eight teams, of which the top two countries in each will advance to the playoffs at Blizzcon in November.

Before then, however, the national committees have to build the teams. The process will begin with try-outs from June 1, with rosters being finalized and announced between June 15 and July 5.

Perhaps of most interest will undoubtedly be the South Korean team. While many countries have several obvious choices for their squad, South Korea will have something of an embarrassment of riches in terms of talent to select from as they look to build a squad to defend their title and claim a third consecutive World Cup victory.

The national committees can be seen on the Overwatch website.

Related Topics

About The Author

Joe O'Brien was a veteran esports and gaming journalist, with a passion and knowledge for almost every esport, ranging from Call of Duty, to League of Legends, to Overwatch. He joined Dexerto in 2015, as the company's first employee, and helped shape the coverage for years to come.