Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite LoL Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Lists Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
General • Jul 11, 2018

Reddit Went Down for 15 Minutes and Everyone on the Internet Freaked Out Accordingly

Reddit Went Down for 15 Minutes and Everyone on the Internet Freaked Out Accordingly

The world stood still on Wednesday, July 11 when the sixth most popular website went down for maintenance.

Reddit has become a staple on the internet for people to find everything from cat pictures to funny videos, and of course esports and gaming news.

Advertisement

Out of the blue on Wednesday at approximately 9am BST (4am EST, 1am PST) the website stopped working and started to display that it was down for maintenance. It came back online just 15 minutes later.

Regular Reddit users will know that this isn’t a regular occurrence for the website to go down. However, that time of day is popular for developers to roll out updates on their websites, as it’s generally viewed as the quietest time for western users.

Advertisement

Since launching a complete overhaul in 2018, Reddit has become subject to criticism for the way the new site works. Many are hoping this was an attempt to fix the issues which include lagging interface and a multitude of bugs.

That didn't stop a load of people freaking out for fifteen minutes. Check out some of the best below.

We'll keep you updated on the situation.

NEW from Dexerto: Why 100 Thieves is the hottest brand in esports right now: