How to check if your PC can Fortnite Season 10 - new specs required - Dexerto

How to check if your PC can Fortnite Season 10 – new specs required

Published: 23/Jun/2019 12:47 Updated: 23/Jun/2019 13:10

by Marcus Banks


Epic Games recently revealed they will no longer be supporting older graphic cards following the release of Fortnite Season 10 – here’s how to check whether you need to upgrade.

The developer stated on June 21 in a blog post that graphics card support will be changing following the release of Season 10 in order to focus on developing and optimizing the Fortnite experience.

PC versions of the game will require a graphics card capable of running Microsoft DirectX11 and support for older GPU’s will be discontinued meaning some players may need to upgrade their current systems.

EPIC GAMESPlayers using older GPU’s may need to upgrade their system.

Luckily, it’s highly likely that your current graphics card is already compatible with DX11 meaning the vast majority of players won’t be affected.

Nevertheless, here is how to check whether your system will meet the new requirements to run Fortnite Season 10. 

How to check if your PC can run Fortnite Season 10

1. Press Windows key + R

2. In the command box, type ‘dxdiag’ and press enter

3. The dialog box will display your current version of DirectX

If the number is 11 or above – you don’t need to upgrade your GPU. However, if the number is lower than 11, you will need to purchase a new graphics card in order to play Fortnite in Season 10.

Here’s where to check if your graphic card can use the required DirectX software.

The official release date of Season 10 is yet to be revealed but with Season 9 set to end on August 1, it’s safe to assume that the next season will be live on August 2.

Therefore, there is plenty of time to make the necessary changes if your current setup needs to be upgraded.

Hopefully, the move will allow Epic to optimize their game to allow for a much-needed performance update, especially in the Fortnite competitive playlists.


How to complete Quests in Fortnite Season 5: Challenges & rewards

Published: 2/Dec/2020 22:00

by Tanner Pierce


With Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 5, challenges are seemingly no more, at least in the form that they’ve taken for a while. Now, players are able to complete quests, which operate in a similar way but are a bit different nonetheless. Here’s what you need to know about them.

For a while now, players in Fortnite have been completing challenges in order to help level up their battle pass. These challenges tasked players with completing certain objectives around the map and, in return, they are given rewards, mostly XP. It ended up being one of the main ways players could grind up their battle pass tiers and overall level.

Now, with the start of Season 5 in Chapter 2, challenges are gone, at least in the form they once took. Now, players will have to complete Quests in order to level up their battle pass. But how do you complete them and what are the actual requirements? Here’s what you need to know.

What are Quests in Fortnite Season 5?

Epic Games/LucasFilm
Quests can be found in its own menu on the left-side of the screen.

Jumping into Fortnite Season 5, one might be a bit confused as to what Quests are and why they’ve replaced challenges. While don’t know for sure why exactly they’ve taken the place of the latter, you can rest assured that they operate almost identically to the old format.

In Fortnite’s main menu, you should see a button to press on the left side labeled Quests. Clicking it will bring up the map and all your Quests, similar to how it’s been in previous seasons. That being said, these new “challenges” are a bit more narrative-focused, having quotes alongside them.

Chapter 2 Season 5 Quests list

Epic Games
Fortnite Quests are similar to challenges from previous seasons.

Quests are split up into different rarities. Everyone seems to have the two same Legendary Quests, alongside some rare and uncommon quests that are different from player to player. Once a quest is done, a new one pops up in its place, which presumably will keep happening until you’ve gone through every single challenge.

That being said, for the two Quests that everyone does have, here’s what you need to complete:

  • Mandalorian Bounties: Complete Bounties
  • Legendary Quests 1: Four Stages
    • Stage 1: Shotgun Eliminations
    • Stage 2: Assault Rifle Damage
    • Stage 3: Sniper Rifle Elimination from 150m
    • Stage 4: Deal Explosive damage to structures
  • Legendary Quests 2: Three Stages
    • Stage 1: Discover Named Locations
    • Stage 2: Talk to a character
    • Stage 3: Collect bars

New Quests should be available every week as the season goes on, much like the challenges of old. We’ll be updating this piece with new objectives as they become available.

All in all, it seems like Quests are a more refined version of challenges; gone is the long list of tasks and now we have a more organized experience. Here’s hoping that Epic continues with this style in the future.