Battlefield

Battlefield V Firestorm release – How to download, FAQ, community reactions

Published: 25/Mar/2019 10:34 Updated: 25/Mar/2019 11:11

by Paul Cot

Share


The long awaited Battlefield V Firestorm is finally available to download now on PS4, Xbox One and PC. Upon the Battlefield 5 release, the battle royal element of the game was delayed several months.

Battlefield V Firestorm release time

Battlefield 5’s Firestorm went live at 5am EDT, March 25. That’s 2am PDT and 9am GMT. In short, Firestorm can be downloaded alongside the normal Battlefield 5 game right now.

  • 2:00 AM PDT – West coast
  • 5:00 AM EDT – East coast
  • 9:00 AM UTC – UK
  • 10:00 AM CET – Germany
  • 12:00 PM MSK – Moscow
  • 17:00 PM CST – Beijing
  • 18:00 PM JST – Tokyo.

How to download Firestorm?

If you’re playing Battlefield V for the first time, simply download the game as normal (if digital) or pop the Battlefield disc into your console, which will prompt the download.

Firestorm is accessible from the Battlefield V main menu. For those who have already experienced Battlefield V, the previously greyed out Firestorm option will now be available.

Battlefield 5 Firestorm details – FAQ

The most commonly asked question is whether Battlefield 5 Firestorm is free? No it is not, Battlefield’s battle royale mode is included within Battlefield 5 but the game does cost. It costs between 25$ and 30$.

Here are the other Firestorm details you need to know:

  • Battlefield’s first battle royale game
  • Played on the Halvoy map which is 10 times bigger than Hamada
  • Same concept as other battle royale games, parachute in, loot, survive, win
  • 64 players land in comparison to the more frequently seen 100
  • Solos and squads available now, duos expected in the coming weeks
  • The Firestorm already covers part of the map from spawn
  • Being outside the Firestorm isn’t as harmful as it first appeared
  • Vehicles play a big part in Firestorm, there are 17 in total
  • Each primary weapon comes with common, rare and epic variants which provide additional perks

Halvoy, Battlefield’s largest map ever…

Battlefield V Twitter reactions

The latest addition to to the battle royale genre has got the gaming community hyped. Firestorm gameplay, which was seen for the first time last week, has justifiably got many excited.

The feedback for Firestorm so far has generally been complimentary. Many are counting down the working hours so they can experience it for themselves.

Elsewhere, Dr Disrespect, despite having not played the game yet, questioned whether Battlefield V Firestorm would “fulfil” his appetite.

Shroud, Twitch’s most subscribed to streamer, has also offered his thoughts on Firestorm. While he is “stoked” to play it, he also stated, “but I guarantee you it’s gonna suck.” It isn’t exactly clear what Shroud meant by this but it seems his thoughts are the concept of a Battlefield battle royale game should excel but may leave fans disappointed, the reasons why are unclear though.

The most common complaint has been looting dead bodies. Consequently loot boxes are already a requested addition to the game.

Another Battlefield player had a rather more negative opinion on Firestorm, specifically relating to the feeling of winning a game. Furthermore in reference to the feeling of getting a kill, he said “It’s so tiny you don’t even notice it.” Hopefully other players don’t share the same sentiment.

It will be interesting to see how Firestorm is received as more players get the chance to compete in Halvoy.

Battlefield

How to play Battlefield V’s final free multiplayer weekend

Published: 1/Nov/2019 15:47 Updated: 1/Nov/2019 15:58

by Connor Bennett

Share


EA are handing over the multiplayer of Battlefield V to the fans with a final free weekend of play. So, if you haven’t dived into the game’s online portion just yet, here’s what you need to know.

Battlefield V dropped back on November 20, 2018, marking the 11th installment in the popular first-person shooter franchise. With the new release, EA Dice took things up a notch with multiplayer compared to previous titles, adding a battle royale mode as well as expanding on the mega Grand Operations.

With it’s one year anniversary coming around, as well as the release of the game’s fifth chapter, EA launched their annual Battlefest celebrations with a raft of content for players. Included in that has been free trial weekends – letting everyone jump into different aspects of the game.

EA games/FlakfireBattlefield V’s Firestorm was the game’s attempt at the battle royale genre.

When is Battlefield V’s free trial weekend?

Starting on Friday, November 1 and running through November 4, players will have the chance to experience all of the game’s multiplayer maps and modes in order to celebrate the release of the Pacific Theatre.

This means that players can try out the traditional Battlefield mode of Conquest, as well as the usual FPS game types of Team Deathmatch and Domination. Anyone who ever enjoyed ‘Rush’ can try their hand at Breakthrough which works in a similar way.

DICE / EAThe epic Battlefield V is the 11th game in the popular franchise.

Where to download Battlefield V for the free trial weekend

The free trial weekends run on Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and EA Origin for the PC. So, all you have to do is fine Battlefield V in your respective marketplace and hit download on the free trial.

Once you’ve waited for the long download and dropped into a game, you will be able to keep any progress you make should you choose to purchase the full game after that point. 

So, what are you waiting for? Time is ticking down on your last chance to experience Battlefield’s epic multiplayer for free.

It’ll take some time to download, of course, but it’s better to act fast than wait until the last minute – especially when you can get in plenty more matches, too.