League of Legends

All qualified teams for the LoL World Championship 2019

by Andy Williams


Worlds 2019 sees the conclusion of the 2019 competitive season for League of Legends. With the event set to take place in three cities across Europe, here are the teams that have qualified and what we know about the event so far. 


Twenty-four teams will battle it out for their chance to get their hands on the Summoner's Cup and to be crowned World Champions of 2019. Depending on seeding, teams will have to battle through various stages in different venues across Europe.

The first stage (Play-Ins) will see 12 teams compete for four Group Stage spots from October 2-8 at the LEC Studio, in Berlin. Teams qualifying from Play-Ins will then meet those already qualified from the auto-qualification spots in the Group Stage, which will take place at the Verti Music Hall in Berlin from October 12-20.

Riot Games
Riot Games
The 2019 Worlds brings a hectic schedule for all involved.


Moving across the continent, eight teams will progress from Groups and qualify for the Knockout Stage, taking place at the Palacio Vistalegre in Madrid, Spain. 

  • Quarterfinals: October 26-27
  • Semifinals: November 2-3. 

The Final is scheduled for November 10, where the final two teams will meet at the AccorHotels Arena, in Paris, France, where they will slog it out to determine the 2019 world champions. 

In its usual cut-throat manner, matches during the Knockout stages are single elimination, best-of-five format.


Teams will do battle to get their hands on the prestigious Summoner's Cup.

Due to their international success in 2018 – with Royal Never Give Up winning the Mid-Season Invitational and Invictus Gaming winning Worlds – China's LPL has been given three direct spots into the Group Stage this year, a privilege previously held by South Korea.

The other major leagues (South Korea's LCK, Europe's LEC, North America's LCS, and Taiwan's LMS) each claim two direct spots in the Group Stage, while the final auto-qualification is handed to the champion of Vietnam's VCS. 


The groups for both the Play-In and the main Group Stage will be decided on a live group draw show, taking place on September 23 at 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST

For both stages, teams with a Pool 1 seed will first be drawn into separate groups, which will then be filled by teams from Pool 2. Teams cannot be drawn into a group already featuring a team from their region, and in the event that the selected team is ineligible, they will instead be placed in the next valid group.

Riot Games
Riot Games
G2 Esports won 2019's MSI, making them a hot favorite for Worlds.


Qualified teams:

Europe (LEC)

  • G2 Esports (LEC Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 1.
  • Fnatic (LEC Regional Finals): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • Splyce (LEC Regional Finals): Play-In, Pool 1.

North America (LCS)

  • Team Liquid (LCS Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 1.
  • Cloud9 (LCS Championship Points): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • Clutch Gaming (LCS Regional Finals): Play-In, Pool 1.

South Korea (LCK)

  • SKT1 (LCK Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 1.
  • Griffin (LCK Championship Points): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • DAMWON (LCK Regional Finals): Play-In, Pool 1.

China (LPL)

  • FunPlus Phoenix (LPL Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 1.
  • Royal Never Give Up (LPL Championship Points): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • Invictus Gaming (LPL Regional Finals): Group Stage, Pool 2. 

Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macao (LMS)

  • J Team (LMS Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • ahq e-Sports Club (LMS Championship Points): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • Hong Kong Attitude (LMS Regional Finals): Play-In, Pool 1. 

Vietnam (VCS)

  • GAM Esports (VCS Summer Champions): Group Stage, Pool 2.
  • Lowkey Esports (VCS Summer Runner-up). Play-In, Pool 2.

Brazil (CBLOL)

  • Flamengo Esports (CBLOL Split 2 Champions): Play-In, Pool 2.


  • Unicorns of Love (LCL Summer Champions): Play-In, Pool 2.

Latin America (LLA)

  • Isurus Gaming (LLA Closing Champions): Play-In, Pool 2.

Oceania (OPL)

  • MAMMOTH (OPL Split 2 Champions): Play-In, Pool 2. 

Japan (JLJ)

  • Detonation FM (LJL Summer Champions): Play-In, Pool 2 

South East Asia (LST)

  • MEGA (LST Summer Champion): Play-In, Pool 2. 

Turkey (TCL)

  • Royal Youth (TCL Summer Champions): Play-In, Pool 2. 

Last updated: 12:33 PM (ET) on September 17, 2019.