Gaming

How to play The Division 2 for free this weekend

by Meg Bethany Koepp

Share


Ubisoft is giving new players a chance to try Tom Clancy's The Division 2 for free on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One from June 13 through June 16 - here's how you can play.

Video game giant Ubisoft had a massive presence at E3 2019, unveiling new titles such as Roller Champions, Ghost Recon Breakpoint, and Watch Dogs Legion.

They also announced details on the upcoming Division 2 DLC, and what better way to celebrate than to make the game free for new players for the weekend.

Ubisoft
Ubisoft
The Division 2 goes free-to-play this weekend.


How to play for free

For PC players interested in trying out The Division 2 for free this weekend, you'll need to sign up for and download UPlay, Ubisoft's main hub for their PC games. You can download the game straight from the UPlay product page - no payment required.

PlayStation 4 players can grab the game from its product page in the PlayStation Store. If it doesn't show up on the front page, simply search for the game and download it that way. PlayStation's subscription service PS Plus isn't needed, so no worries there if you're not subscribed.

For players on Xbox One, the first thing you'll need is an Xbox Live Gold subscription - one month is $9.99, three months is $24.99, and a year's sub is $59.99. If you have a subscription, simply head to the Division 2 product page on the Xbox Store, and download the game for free.

Ubisoft
Ubisoft
Xbox One players will need an Xbox Live Gold subscription.

When does the free weekend start and end?

The free weekend officially starts on June 13 at 12:01 AM PST (3:01 AM EST, 7:01 PM GMT) across all platforms.

It ends on June 16 at 11:59 PM PST (2:59 AM EST, 6:59 AM GMT), giving new players four whole days to soak themselves into the immersive world of The Division 2.

If you decide you'd like to buy the game after the free weekend is up, Ubisoft is offering a digital discount of up to 35% depending on the platform, so it's definitely worth buying while it's cheaper than the usual retail price.