Fortnite

Fortnite Announce New Release Date and Time for v4.2 Update After Initial Delay

by Albert Petrosyan

Share


Epic Games have announced a new release date and time for the upcoming v4.2 update and patch for Fortnite: Battle Royale.

The update will go live on May 16th at 1 AM PDT / 4 AM EDT / 08:00 BST, with matchmaking presumably being disabled 20-25 minutes prior.

Advertisement

The announcement was made on May 15th via a post on the official Fortnite Twitter page.

Advertisement

 

Originally, the update was scheduled to go live at the same time on May 15th, but an apparent issue was discovered which delayed the release of the patch by a whole day.

While Epic Games have not gone into detail about what the issue the caused the delay was, it appears that it has been resolved to their satisfaction.

Advertisement

The v4.2 update was anticipated as it will introduce a brand new weapon into Fortnite for the first time since the start of Season 4.

The Burst Assault Rifle is set to be added to the game, and will be the first of its kind to feature in Epic and Legendary rarities. 

Furthermore, several fixes to issues in the game are expected to be rolled out with this upcoming patch, including a major glitch with the Turbo Building option on the Builder Pro controller layout