ESL One Cologne 2019 CS:GO groups, schedule revealed - Dexerto
CS:GO

ESL One Cologne 2019 CS:GO groups, schedule revealed

Published: 28/Jun/2019 11:51

by Connor Bennett

Share


The groups and subsequent schedule for this year’s ESL One Cologne event have finally been revealed – throwing up a number of interesting opening match-ups.

While it may not be a Valve Major, CS:GO tournaments of the year, with players and teams alike circling it on their calendars ahead of time. 

This year’s event promises to be one of the most explosive yet, with 15 of the world’s top 30 teams heading to Germany in a bid to claim the top crown. Of course, all eyes will be on Team Liquid and Astralis – who are separated in the group stage – but there are plenty of other storylines to consider too. 

Adela Sznajder for DreamHackAll eyes will be on Team Liquid and if they can finish off the Intel Grand Slam.

The tournament kicks off on Tuesday, July 2, with best of one matches running alongside each other starting at 11 AM GMT/ 7 AM EST/ 4 AM PST. Team Liquid, the newly crowned #1 team in the world, will get the action underway against MVP PK, while Natus Vincere and Mousesports do battle at the same time. 

Following them, FaZe Clan will take on Renegades while NRG – with new addition Peter ‘stanislaw’ Jarguz at the helm – will battle Brazilian upstarts FURIA. 

However, fans will have to wait just a little bit longer before being able to see the new line-ups of Ninjas in Pyjamas and MIBR. MIBR will take on Fnatic at 1:20 PM GMT/ 9:20 AM EST/ 6:20 AM PST alongside Astralis’ match against hometown favorites BIG. Once those two games are concluded, NiP’s new acquisition Nicolas ‘Plopski’ Gonzalez Zamora is in action against Team Vitality. 

A full list of the opening matches.

From there, the matches move from best of ones into best of threes as the group stage winds down and the road to the playoffs begins. The action rolls right through until July 7, with July 5 deciding the quarter-finals and July 6, of course, settling the semi-finals. 

The prize pool split for the event has yet to be announced, but whoever claims the top prize at the Cathedral of Counter-Strike will have truly earnt it through a best-of-five grand final. 

ESL One Cologne 2019 Group A

Team Region
Team Liquid North America
Natus Vincere CIS
FaZe Europe
FURIA North America
NRG North America
Renegades North America
mousesports Europe
MVP PK Asia

ESL One Cologne 2019 Group B

Team Region
Astralis Europe
MIBR North America
Team Vitality Europe
ENCE Europe
Heroic Europe
NiP Europe
Fnatic Europe
BIG Europe
CS:GO

How arT’s aggression is leading FURIA’s CSGO charge to site

Published: 27/Oct/2020 18:01

by Marco Rizzo

Share


Andrei ‘arT’ Piovezan has led FURIA to the top of NA Counter-Strike thanks not only to his calling but also his ultra-aggressive playstyle. 

Dexerto explores the Brazilian’s signature aggression and how it has defined him as the most offensive player in CSGO history. 

His playstyle slowly leaked into his strategies, making FURIA one of the most aggressive teams in the world: allowing them to become the most successful T-side team over the last few months. 

This was clear during ESL Pro League 11 NA, where arT’s aggressive pushes and misdirection on Inferno led the team to a dominant win against the best NA had to offer. All this while delivering some of the most entertaining CS ever. 

The importance of his dual-role as a IGL and Entry-Fragger is not lost, allowing him to quickly adapt his calling after going first into bombsites. 

ArT has led FURIA to become true contenders on the world stage but now the difficult part begins: keeping ahead of the curve and keep the elements of surprise on his side.