Cloud9 confirm controversial CSGO team acquisition - Dexerto

Cloud9 confirm controversial CSGO team acquisition

Published: 7/Jan/2020 8:53

by Joe O'Brien


Cloud9 have announced the signing of a new CS:GO roster with the acquisition of the line-up previously representing ATK.

The mixed South African and North American squad has been acquired in its entirety, confirming previous reports about the possibility of the move.

The squad doesn’t have too many notable results at top tier events, with their most recent being a 7th-8th finish at the ESL Pro League Finals, during which they claimed best-of-three victories over North and G2 Esports.

ESLATK picked up some notable victories at the EPL Season 10 Finals.

Meanwhile, the team has also been performing online in North America in recent months, claiming a victory in Week 2 of the ECS Season 8 season and finishing first in the United States Qualifier for WESG 2019.

Cloud9 CEO Jack Etienne commented on the acquisition:

“I think everyone in the community has been impressed with what these players have accomplished and we’re thrilled to be welcoming them to C9. I can’t wait to see them make even greater strides in the coming year!”

Cloud9 have been without an active roster since December 2019, when their squad was disbanded after three players – Kenneth ‘koosta’ Suen, Damian ‘Daps’ Steele, and Timothy ‘autimatic’ Ta – were transferred to Gen.G Esports.

After winning the ELeague Boston Major in January 2018, Cloud9’s CS:GO team has largely experienced turmoil in the years since, with high turnover in their roster and few noteworthy results to speak of since their Major victory.

The new line-up will make their debut for Cloud9 on January 9, when the team will be playing in the North American Closed Qualifier for IEM Katowice. They will be facing the likes of compLexity, MIBR, and the former Cloud9 players now representing Gen.G for just one available space in Katowice.

Cloud9 roster

  • Johnny ‘JT’ Theodosiou
  • Ian ‘motm’ Hardy
  • Joshua ‘oSee’ Ohm
  • Ricky ‘floppy’ Kemery
  • Aran ‘Sonic’ Groesbeek

How Stanislaw became NA CSGO’s greatest leader

Published: 28/Nov/2020 20:36 Updated: 28/Nov/2020 20:37

by Alan Bernal


Peter ‘stanislaw’ Jarguz has been one of CSGO’s most impressive in-game leaders for years, leading teams to extremely impressive highs and, at times, disappointing lows. His persistence through myriad successes and failures has earned him the title of the region’s best IGL.

An all-around in-game leader is hard to come by. While Europe has its fair share of talent like Aleksi ‘Aleksib’ Virolainen or Lukas ‘gla1ve’ Rossander, NA has historically been lacking in that department.

A 20-year-old Stanislaw burst on the scene in 2014 with fantastic aim and cheeky tactics. Through tumultuous roster relocations, he eventually landed on Conquest where consistent results were stacking up.

It wasn’t until the Greenwall had picked him up alongside Will ‘RUSH’ Wierzba, Damian ‘daps’ Steele, Shahzeeb ‘ShahZaM’ Khan, and Keith ‘NAF’ Markovic, where CSGO crowds started to learn his name.

Through all the odds, this team would eventually qualify for the ESL Cologne Major. But after fizzling out in the group stage, there were a few roster changes in the OpTic lineup that saw stanislaw ousted from the team, just to eventually return a while later.

But this is the part in stan’s journey where he notably led the way to victories with his rifle as well as his tactical prowess on teams like Evil Geniuses. With the tactical side of CSGO taken care of, he resorted to focusing on himself to avoid being a detriment to the team.

Usually, IGLs aren’t expected to collect a lot of frags, but the NA leader defied convention throughout his career to be a potent threat on all parts of the map.