All CSGO & CS2 Major champions in history

Declan Mclaughlin
csgo major winners

CS:GO has been ushered out of Counter-Strike competitive play as the Counter-Strike 2 era has begun. With NAVI putting together a new roster in 2023 that was able to win it all at CS2’s first Major in Copenhagen, here’s the full history of CS:GO and CS2 Major winners.

The CS:GO Major is the pinnacle of the game. Although there are many other trophies that teams aspire to win, the Majors are reserved for an elite few who battled their way through regional qualifiers before facing the toughest opposition globally, with prestige and prize money on the line.

CS:GO saw many Major winners, and Counter-Strike 2 will see many more. NAVI became the first team to take a Counter-Strike 2 Major title, and they bested PGL defending champions FaZe Clan in the process.

An emotional win for NAVI in Counter-Strike 2’s first Major.

The Majors are also unique in that they have been hosted by multiple different tournament organizers over the years, at Valve’s choosing, and so they bring with them a chance for new talent on the broadcast side, and new ways to showcase the teams that make it to the top.

With Counter-Strike 2 about to take over the competitive circuit, Astralis, Fnatic and the Brazilian super team LG/SK remain the only teams who were able to lift a Major trophy twice in one calendar year.

All CS:GO & CS2 Major winners over the years

2013CS:GODreamHack WinterFnaticJW, flusha, schneider, Devilwalk, pronax
2014CS:GOESL Major Series One KatowiceVirtus.proTaZ, NEO, pashaBiceps, Snax, byali
2014CS:GOESL One: CologneNinjas in Pyjamasf0rest, GeT_RiGhT, Xizt, Fifflaren, friberg
2014CS:GODreamHack WinterTeam LDLC.comNBK, SmithZz, kioShiMa, shox, Happy
2015CS:GOESL One: KatowiceFnaticJW, flusha, olofmeister, pronax, KRIMZ
2015CS:GODreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca Team EnVyUsHappy, NBK, kioShiMa, kennyS, apEX
2015CS:GOESL One: CologneFnaticJW, flusha, pronax, olofmeister, KRIMZ
2016CS:GOMLG Major Championship: ColumbusLuminosityFalleN, fer, coldzera, fnx, TACO
2016CS:GOESL One: CologneSK GamingFalleN, fer, coldzera, fnx, TACO
2017CS:GOELEAGUE Major: AtlantaAstralisdevice, dupreeh, Xyp9x, Kjaerbye, gla1ve
2017CS:GOPGL Major KrakówGambit EsportsDosia, AdreN, mou, Zeus, HObbit
2018CS:GOELEAGUE Major: BostonCloud9Skadoodle, Stewie2K, autimatic, RUSH, tarik
2018CS:GOFACEIT Major: LondonAstralisdevice, dupreeh, Xyp9x, Magisk, gla1ve
2019CS:GOIEM Season XIII – KatowiceAstralisdevice, dupreeh, Xyp9x, Magisk, gla1ve
2019CS:GOStarLadder Berlin MajorAstralisdevice, dupreeh, Xyp9x, Magisk, gla1ve
2021CS:GOPGL Major StockholmNAVIs1mple, electroNic, Boombl4, Perfecto, b1t
2022CS:GOPGL Major AntwerpFaZe Clanrain, broky, Twistzz, karrigan, ropz
2022CS:GOIEM Rio MajorOutsidersqikert, Jame, FL1T, n0rb3r7, fame Paris MajorVitalityZywOo, apEX, Magisk, dupreeh, Spinx
2024CS2PGL Major CopenhagenNAVIb1t, Aleksib, jL, iM, w0nderful

CS:GO & CS2 Major champions by number of trophies

dupreeh won the most CS:GO Majors of any player, four with Astralis and one with Vitality

Winning one Major is a feat that many players in CS:GO never achieve, and earning more than one is an even more exclusive club among those who have graced the big stage. The esport has seen players establish dynasties across years of competition, or get hot enough to win multiple trophies in a short time span. But Astralis’ run from 2018-2019 has cemented their status as one of the winningest squads in the FPS title.

With Vitality’s victory at the BLAST Paris Major, Peter ‘dupreeh’ Rasmussen cemented his legacy in the game. He is the player with the most Major trophies of all, five, leaving behind his former Astralis teammates Andreas ‘Xyp9x’ Højsleth, Nicolai ‘dev1ce Reedtz and Lukas ‘gla1ve’ Rossander.

Number of Major trophiesPlayers
4device, Xyp9x, gla1ve, Magisk
3JW, flusha, pronax
2olofmeister, NBK, kioShiMa, Happy, FalleN, fer, coldzera, fnx, TACO, KRIMZ, apEX, b1t
1schneider, Devilwalk, TaZ, NEO, pashaBiceps, Snax, byali, f0rest, GeT_RiGhT, Xizt, Fifflaren, friberg, SmithZz, shox, qikert, Jame, FL1T, n0rb3r7, fame, dastan, Kjaerbye, Dosia, AdreN, mou, Zeus, HObbit, Skadoodle, Stewie2K, autimatic, RUSH, tarik, s1mple, electroNic, Boombl4, Perfecto, B1ad3, rain, broky, Twistzz, karrigan, ropz, ZywOo, Spinx, jL, iM, w0nderful, Aleksib

CS:GO & CS2 Major champions by country

Counter-Strike Majors have graced many countries and seen players from across the world lift the trophy.

The Major has been hosted across the world, in Europe, North America and South America. While the crown of champions has traditionally been dominated by Europeans, Brazilians and North Americans have managed to diversify the Major winner pool.

Sweden, Denmark and France still have the most number of Major winners across the board thanks to the early Fnatic and Ninjas in Pyjamas teams, Astralis and the French teams from the mid-2010s.

The most recent additions to the list of Major champions are Mathieu ‘ZywOo’ Herbaut and Lotan ‘Spinx’ Giladi. The latter is also the first player from Israel to win a Major.

SwedenJW, flusha, schneider, Devilwalk, pronax, olofmeister, KRIMZ, f0rest, GeT_RiGhT, Xizt, Fifflaren, friberg, znajder (13)
FranceHappy, NBK, kioShiMa, kennyS, apEX, SmithZz, shox, ZywOo (8)
Denmarkdevice, dupreeh, Xyp9x, Magisk, gla1ve, Kjaerbye, karrigan (7)
BrazilFalleN, fer, coldzera, fnx, TACO, (5)
USASkadoodle, Stewie2K, autimatic, RUSH, tarik (5)
PolandTaZ, NEO, pashaBiceps, Snax, byali (5)
RussiaJame, FL1T, n0rb3r7, fame, electroNic, Boombl4, Perfecto, Dosia (8)
Kazakhstanqikert, HObbit, mou, AdreN (4)
Ukraines1mple, b1t, Zeus, w0nderful (4)
Norwayrain (1)
CanadaTwistzz (1)
Estoniaropz (1)
Latviabroky (1)
IsraelSpinx (1)
RomaniaiM (1)
LithuaniajL (1)
FinlandAleksib (1)