Overwatch League S2 playoffs set as regular season concludes – Final placements

Joe O'Brien

The regular season of Overwatch League Season 2 has concluded, confirming all of the teams that will advance to the season playoffs and play-in tournament.

With Stage 4 complete, the final standings of the six-month regular season are locked in, with all 20 teams having completed 28 matches each. Some teams will now get the chance to fight for a share of the $3.5 million playoff prize pool, while for others the season is over.

The top six finishers all secure a direct place into the eight-team playoffs, while those finishing 7th-12th advance to the play-in tournament, from which the top two will round out the final playoff spots.

The regular season was largely dominated by two teams, with the Vancouver Titans and San Francisco Shock vying for supremacy. Closely behind them came New York Excelsior, who found less success in the Stage playoffs but nevertheless ended the regular season with just six losses.

While the Shock ultimately finished second in the standings, it will be NYXL who claim the second seed for the playoffs due to topping the Atlantic Division, while the Shock finished behind Vancouver in the Pacific Division.

Robert Paul for Blizzard EntertainmentVancouver Titans led the standings throughout the regular season.

This will be the last time that the Overwatch League uses its current Stage-based format for the regular season, as in Season 3 the league will move to local ‘homestands’, with a single continuous regular season as teams travel between venues.

Unlike Season 1, which gave out $1.3 million for regular season placements, Season 2 offers no reward for the end-of-season standings themselves, with regular season prizes instead moved entirely into the stage playoffs.

Placement Team Qualified
1 Vancouver Titans Playoffs
2 San Francisco Shock Playoffs
3 New York Excelsior Playoffs
4 Hangzhou Spark Playoffs
5 Los Angeles Gladiators Playoffs
6 Atlanta Reign Playoffs
7 London Spitfire Play-in
8 Seoul Dynasty Play-in
9 Guangzhou Charge Play-in
10 Philadelphia Fusion Play-in
11 Shanghai Dragons Play-in
12 Chengdu Hunters Play-in
13 Los Angeles Valiant
14 Paris Eternal
15 Dallas Fuel
16 Houston Outlaws
17 Toronto Defiant
18 Washington Justice
19 Boston Uprising
20 Florida Mayhem