Overwatch League Make Embarrassing Omission During Season 2 Team Announcement - Dexerto

Overwatch League Make Embarrassing Omission During Season 2 Team Announcement

Published: 8/Sep/2018 0:09

by Joe O'Brien


The Overwatch League recently revealed the eight expansion teams joining for Season Two, but there was a bizarre error in the announcement.

[ad name=”article1″]

Though the teams had been previously reported, they’ve now been officially announced, with a video posted by the Overwatch League twitter account confirming the home cities of the new teams.

The mistake had nothing to do with the new teams, however, but rather an omission in the backdrop of the announcement video – the world map on which the new teams were placed.

[ad name=”article2″]

Eagle-eyed readers may have noticed the omission, but for those that haven’t: the United Kingdom has been missed off. In the space next France – which now has an Overwatch League franchise based in Paris – where the UK should sit, there is only the ocean.


The map obviously isn’t fully detailed, but the absence of the home nation of Season One Overwatch League champions London Spitfire does seem something of an oversight.

The Spitfire’s own Stylosa pointed out the error on Twitter.

[ad name=”article3″]

As well as the new franchise in Paris, the league will also be welcoming teams based in Toronto, Vancouver, Atlanta, Washington D.C., Hangzhou, Guangzhou, and Chengdu. The teams will begin building rosters from September 9, when an exclusive free agent signing window will open.

So far, no announcements have been made regarding the team names and branding for any of the expansion teams.


The new additions bring the Overwatch League roster two a total of twenty teams, all of whom will need to have at least an eight-man roster by December 8. Season Two of the Overwatch League is expected to kick off in early 2019.