Esports Awards 2019: Finalists announced for Game of the Year, best Journalist and more - Dexerto

Esports Awards 2019: Finalists announced for Game of the Year, best Journalist and more

Published: 30/Aug/2019 3:08 Updated: 30/Aug/2019 7:50

by Isaac McIntyre


Industry finalists for the Esports Awards, including awards for Game of the Year and Esports Journalist of the Year, have been announced following a huge tally of nominations from across the scene.

The annual Esports Awards are set for a venue change for the first time in its history as they make the major shift from London to Texas, USA, but the voting and awards themselves have stayed the same, with industry nominations set to be revealed this week.

This major change comes during the award’s fourth year. The Esports Awards are widely regarded as the most prestigious in the world of esports, recognizing the biggest and best in players, streamers, organizations, on-screen talent, journalism and more.


The top professional players in both PC and console esports will be vying for the trophies, as well as big name streamers and on-air talent, with categories for the best in the world of gaming entertainment also handed out.

Nominations for awards like Streamer of the Year, Esports Personality of the Year, and Content Creator of the Year were announced in July, and now the developers, publications, and sponsors in the running for the industry-focused plaudits have been revealed.

Esports Game of the Year Award

  • Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
  • League of Legends
  • Fortnite Battle Royale
  • Overwatch
  • Dota 2
  • Call of Duty
  • Player Unknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Rainbow Six: Siege
  • Rocket League

Esports Website Coverage of the Year

  • ESPN
  • Dexerto
  • The Esports Observer
  • HLTV
  • Liquidpedia
  • The Score Esports
  • Inven Global
  • Dot Esports
  • GosuGamers
  • VPEsports

Esports Journalist of the Year

  • Jacob Wolf
  • Emily Rand
  • Richard Lewis
  • Jarek ’DeKay’ Lewis
  • Duncan ‘Thorin’ Shields
  • Ashley Kang
  • Dustin Steiner
  • Kevin Aiello
  • Tyler ‘FionnOnFire’ Erzberger

Esports Publisher of the Year

  • Activision/Blizzard
  • Riot Games
  • Steam
  • Epic Games
  • Ubisoft
  • PUBG Corporation
  • Tencent Games
  • EA 
  • Supercell
  • Capcom

Esports Commercial Partner of the Year

  • Intel
  • State Farm
  • HyperX
  • Red Bull
  • G Fuel
  • DHL
  • Alienware
  • Scuf Gaming
  • Logitech
  • AT&T

Esports Supporting Agency of the Year Award

  • Character Select Agency
  • ESG Law
  • Evolved Talent
  • Loaded
  • Hitmaker Jobs
  • National Association of Collegiate Esports
  • Code Red Esports
  • Freaks 4U Gaming

Esports Hardware Provider of the Year

  • Alienware
  • Intel
  • Nvidia
  • Scuf Gaming
  • HyperX
  • Logitech
  • Razer
  • AMD
  • Secretlab Chairs 
  • Astro Gaming
  • MSI

It is expected most nominated players and personalities will travel to the new venue in Arlington, though there are always a few absences among the list. The awards hosts are hopefully, however, that the shift from the UK to the United States may lower this number.


Last year’s hosts Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoorte and Alex ‘Goldenboy’ Mendez have also confirmed they will again host the award ceremony in 2019.

The prestigious awards are set to be held at the new 100,000 square feet purpose built Esports Stadium in Arlington on November 16, with general admission tickets to go on sale for fans in coming weeks.