Overwatch: Blizzard announce end date for Season 13 and share new details for Season 14 - Dexerto
Overwatch

Overwatch: Blizzard announce end date for Season 13 and share new details for Season 14

Published: 27/Dec/2018 21:30 Updated: 27/Dec/2018 21:50

by Wyatt Donigan

Share


Overwatch is quickly approaching the end of its 13th competitive season and Blizzard has shared some new details on what we can expect moving forward.

[ad name=”article1″]

Each Overwatch season generally last for about two months, with each containing special rewards for players who put in the time to grind out their ranks.

While the wait between seasons typically has lasted a few days, Blizzard has announced a major change to the offseason between Season 13 and 14.

[ad name=”article2″]

Season 13 will come to an end on Monday, December 31 at 2pm PST / 5pm EST / 10pm UTC, which was expected given the usual length of each season.

Advertisement

In a surprise move, however, it was announced that Season 14 would get underway just two hours after the end of Season 13, signaling a drastic change from previous seasons.

Season 13 will officially end on Monday, December 31 at 2:00 p.m. PST (Monday, December 31 at 22:00 UTC). Season 14 is currently scheduled to launch two hours later on Monday, December 31 at 4:00 p.m. PST (Tuesday, January 1 at 00:00 UTC).

The surprise Season 14 start time will allow players the chance to ring in the New Year by getting their placement matches done almost immediately.

[ad name=”article3″]Blizzard Entertainment

Before heading into Season 14, though, players will receive some rewards based on their performance in Season 13.

Just by completing the Season 13 placements, players will receive a special spray and player icon to commemorate the season. If you managed to place in the Top 500 of your platform and region, you’ll get another player icon and animated spray for your efforts.

Advertisement

In addition to those, players will receive Competitive Points (CP) based on the maximum skill rating (SR) achieved during the season.

  • SR 1-1499 (Bronze): 65 CP
  • SR 1500-1999 (Silver): 125 CP
  • SR 2000-2499 (Gold): 250 CP 
  • SR 2500-2999 (Platinum): 500 CP
  • SR 3000-3499 (Diamond): 750 CP 
  • SR 3500-3999 (Master) 1200 CP
  • SR 4000-5000 (Grandmaster): 1750 CP