Esports Awards 2020: dates, new awards & categories, format changes - Dexerto

Esports Awards 2020: dates, new awards & categories, format changes

Published: 27/May/2020 22:56 Updated: 27/May/2020 23:01

by Albert Petrosyan


The first details for this year’s Esports Awards have been announced, including key dates, the first wave of nominations, several new awards and categories, the Ambassador Program and more.

Considered to be the Oscars of esports, the Esports Awards recognize the best of the best when it comes to pro players, streamers, organizations, coverage websites and other industry members.

The prestigious ceremony will be returning in 2020 for its fifth consecutive year, but before then, a whole nominations process will determine who will be among the exclusive list of big names that are to be honored.

On May 27, they hosted the first of six Spotlight Shows in the leadup to the main event, revealing some of the changes that have been made to this year’s process.

For your convenience, we’ve included the whole broadcast below, so you can watch the full show that was hosted by legendary caster Chris Puckett.

Key dates & process

There are five stages to the 2020 Esports Awards season, from the moment nominations open to the grand final ceremony where the awards get handed out. While the date for the main event has not yet been announced, there are some key timing details for fans to take note of. The finalists for each of the five awards categories will all be announced in separate Spotlight Shows, starting in July.

  • Stage 1 – Nominations open
  • Stage 2 – Finalists announced
  • Stage 3 – Public vote
  • Stage 4 – Panel vote
  • Stage 5 – The Awards
  • Community – Announced in Spotlight Show 2 in July
  • Industry  – Announced in Spotlight Show 3 in August
  • Creative – Announced in Spotlight Show 3 in August
  • Pro – Announced in Spotlight Show 4 in September
  • On-Air Talent – Announced in Spotlight Show 4 in September
Swipe Right MediaA long journey awaits between the 2020 Esports Awards nominations and main ceremony.

New awards and categories

The 2020 Esports Awards will be mixing up the traditional groups of award categories, which, as listed above, will now be split into Community, Industry, Pro, On-Air Talent and Creative, the final one being a totally new section.

As a result, there are also eight awards that will be presented at this year’s ceremony:

  • Esports mobile game of the year
  • Esports mobile player of the year
  • Esports collegiate award
  • Esports content team of the year
  • Esports content series of the year
  • Esports caster of the year (play by play)
  • Esports caster of the year (Color)
  • Esports analyst of the year

Ambassador Program

Also making its debut this year is the all-new Ambassador Program, which is meant to honor those who have contributed mightily to the world of esports and supported the awards in the past.

  • Kyle ‘Bugha’ Giersdorf – Fortnite World Cup winner, multiple Esports Award winner, Forbes 30 under 30.
  • Craig ‘Mini Ladd’ Thompson – top gaming YouTuber, 2019 Content Creator of the Year, raised hundreds of thousands for charity.
  • Nyvi Estephan – Leading host of esports in Brazil, presenter at a variety of major companies.
  • Bil ‘Jump’ Carter – Esports host and commentator at many major events, worked 70+ events in 2019.
  • Britanni Johnson – Head of Creators at G2 Esports, expert in influencer marketing, casting, and strategy consultant, worked with notable brands such as Twitch, AT&T, and Disney.
  • Jess Brohard – Esports host with over 10 years of experience, worked in Call of Duty World League, National PUBG League, Pokemon World Championships, and more.
  • Ross ‘TommyT999’ Thompson – Video game industry veteran and longtime content creator.

New Panel members

The Panel is one of the most important parts of the Esports Awards process. Made up of key industry experts, the Panel makes up 75% of the vote for almost every award, with the remaining 25% being accounted for by the community.

For 2020, there are 11 new members, including Matt Ruttledge, the Director of Mobile Gaming at Complexity, and Nicolas Estrup, Director of Product and Experience for BLAST.

Nominations – how to nominate

Nominations for all 31 awards are now open, so those wishing to submit names for consideration can do so by visiting the Esports Awards 2020 nominations page.

Dexerto, winners of the 2019 Esports Coverage Website of the Year, are eligible again this year, so if you would like to see us go back-to-back, make sure to nominate us again!


TikTokers Lexi Rivera and Ben Azelart explain why they broke up

Published: 24/Nov/2020 14:31

by Alice Hearing


Internet personalities Lexi Rivera and Ben Azelart have explained why they broke up after three years together, in an emotional video posted to YouTube.

Lexi Rivera is known in association with her brother Brent who is one of TikTok’s biggest creators with 35 million followers, while Lexi herself has more than 14 million followers on the app. The siblings also have a combined 19.5 million subscribers on YouTube.

Ben Azelart is also heavily associated with the siblings and has himself built up a huge following of 11 million followers on TikTok. But fans were devastated to find out this week that the duo were no longer a couple.

Lexi and Ben posted a video explaining why, saying that they thought they owed their fans the truth. Lexi said: “I have so much respect for Ben and he’s like literally one of the best people I’ve ever met in my entire life.” Ben responded, “I mean the same goes for me, Lexi is one of the nicest, sweetest, funniest people I’ve ever met.”

Lexi Rivera Ben Azelart break up
Instagram: Lexi Rivera
Lexi and Ben dated for three years

Addressing their viewers, Lexi explained why it took so long for them to officially break the news: “I know that it’s been super confusing for you guys and that is because it’s been just as confusing for us we’ve been very just on and off again and I don’t think we were really sure what we wanted to do until now.

“Having a relationship is one thing, but having a relationship online is a completely different story and it was very confusing for us. Honestly, it wasn’t easy being young like we were 15 and 16.

Lexi went on to say that the relationship no longer made them both happy. “We both had so much fun doing it, but I think as years went on it just became a little too complicated…I think what was hard is we want to make you guys happy as well as make ourselves happy.

“Ultimately we just didn’t do both and I think what’s most important was focusing on ourselves for now.”

Lexi and Ben finished by saying that they’re not parting ways forever and that they both felt it was just the wrong time to be together.