Esports Awards 2019: Streamer of the Year finalists revealed and new location announced - Dexerto

Esports Awards 2019: Streamer of the Year finalists revealed and new location announced

Published: 10/Jul/2019 22:45 Updated: 11/Jul/2019 1:51

by Calum Patterson


The annual Esports Awards are back for 2019, but with some big changes afoot, moving from their previous venue in London across to Texas, USA, where they will present awards for the best in esports competition and industry.

Partnering with Esports Stadium Arlington, a new 100,000 square feet, purpose built esports venue, the Esports Awards will now be welcoming fans to attend the ceremony on November 16, with general admission tickets to be available.

The 2019 event will be the fourth annual iteration of the Esports Awards, widely regarded as the most prestigious in the world of esports, recognizing the biggest and best in players, streamers, organizations, on-screen talent, journalism and more.

The purpose-built Esports Stadium in Arlington will play host to the Esports Awards 2019.

The top professional players in both PC and console esports will be vying for the trophies, as well as big name streamers and on-air talent, with categories for the best in the world of gaming entertainment also handed out.

All previous years have been held in London, with mostly nominees and industry-folk filling the seats, but the move to the Arlington Stadium will facilitate a grander affair, with fans now cheering on the winners.

Streamer of the Year nominees

The first finalists have been announced on July 10, for the Streamer of the Year category:

  • Tfue 
  • Dr Disrespect 
  • CouRage
  • Ninja 
  • Alanzoka
  • Gotaga
  • TimTheTatman
  • Pokimane
  • Shroud

Esports Personality of the Year nominees

  • Nadeshot
  • Sjokz
  • Goldenboy
  • DrLupo
  • FalleN
  • Steve Arhancet
  • Ninja
  • Ocelote
  • H3CZ

You can vote for your favorite here.

Content Creator of the year

  • CouRage
  • Mini Ladd
  • LazarBeam
  • Ali-A
  • Thorin
  • Terroriser
  • FaZe Jev
  • UpUpDownDown
  • SunlessKhan
  • Travis Gafford
  • Nadeshot

Videographer of the Year

  • Matt “Mawcho” Reyez
  • Cory Doggett
  • Gabriel Ruiz
  • Johannes Lehner
  • Damian Estrada
  • Robert Rogers
  • Max Olivo
  • Charles Dalton
  • Logan Dodson

Esport photographer of the year

  • Helena Kristiansson
  • Joe Brady
  • Joao Ferreira
  • Kirill Bashkirov
  • Michal Konkol
  • Peter Chau
  • Chris Bahn
  • Steph Lindgren
  • Nuno Miranda

Esports breakthrough game of the year

  • Apex Legends
  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate
  • PUBG Mobile
  • Old School Runescape
  • Guns of Boom
  • Brawl Stars
  • Magic: The Gathering Arena
  • FIFA 19
  • NBA 2K19
  • Battalion 1944

Esports cosplayer of the year

  • Sneaky
  • Jessica Nigri
  • Kitty Kaboom
  • LittleJem
  • Maul
  • Kinpatsu
  • Spoon Makes
  • Willow Creative
  • Anaelic
  • Polygon Forge
  • Yaya Han

Jonathon Oudthone, President of Esports Stadium Arlington, said they aim to be the most prestigious stadium in all of esports, and “hosting the most prestigious esports awards show on the planet” is part of that goal.

Esports Awards say the partnership and new venue is a “big step forward”, and have secured a number of other partnerships, including Secret Lab Chairs, The Koyo Store and Touch of Ginger, who will sponsor individual award categories.

Many of the big name players and streamers nominated will travel to the event, although in previous years with travelling to London sometimes tricky, some have missed out. Now moving to the US, where a large number of nominees typically reside, hopefully none of the potential winners will miss out on the occasion.

Returning hosts Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoorte and Alex ‘Goldenboy’ Mendez have confirmed they will be back to host the 2019 show too.

How does the Esports Awards work?

As with previous years, fans can get involved with the process by nominating individuals, teams, websites and sponsors for the different categories. While the community awards are now closed, the ‘Pro’ and ‘Industry’ categories are still open, so you can nominate your favorites.

Once a selection of nominees are picked, fans select from the finalists to select the winning nominees for a myriad of categories. Previous award winners include the likes of CoD pro Seth ‘Scump’ Abner and Twitch streamer Dr Disrespect.

The best in the business will be recognized again this year, on November 16.


Valorant First Strike NA Finals – Sentinels, 100 Thieves progress to semis

Published: 5/Dec/2020 1:13 Updated: 5/Dec/2020 1:14

by Andrew Amos


North America’s best Valorant teams are going head-to-head in First Strike Global Finals. Eight strong teams have entered, but only one will emerge victorious. Here’s everything you need to know.

  • Semi finals to start @ 4:00PM (EST) on December 5.
  • Envy play TSM, while 100 Thieves face off against Sentinels for spots in Grand Final.
  • All our top four teams are still in the event.

Valorant First Strike NA: Stream

The $100,000 First Strike NA regional finals will be broadcast on the official Valorant NA Esports Twitch channel, as well as on the Valorant Twitch channel.

All the fixture details you need are below, so you won’t miss a match.

Valorant First Strike NA: Schedule & results

Day 3 — Saturday, December 5

Semi-finals Envy vs TSM 12PM 3PM 8PM 9PM
Sentinels vs 100 Thieves 3PM 6PM 11PM 12AM

Day 4 — Sunday, December 6

Grand Final TBD vs TBD 12PM 3PM 8PM 9PM

Day 2 — Friday, December 4

Quarter-finals Sentinels 2-0 FaZe 12PM 3PM 8PM 9PM
100 Thieves 2-0 T1 3PM 6PM 11PM 12AM

Sentinels & 100 Thieves advance convincingly

Jay ‘Sinatraa’ Won’s Sentinels beat up on fellow former Overwatch pros Shane ‘RawkusFlaherty and Andrej ‘babybay’ Francisty of FaZe Clan to breeze through the quarters 2-0.

To finish Day 2 out 100 Thieves put on a show against T1, who put up a fight, but weren’t able to overcome Hiko and the gang, who rolled on 2-0.

Day 1 — Thursday, December 3

Quarter-finals Envy 2-0 Immortals 12PM 3PM 8PM 9PM
Renegades 0-2 TSM 3PM 6PM 11PM 12AM

Envy & TSM stride into semis

Victor ‘Food’ Wong’s Reyna and Jake ‘kaboose’ McDonald’s Raze proved too hot to handle for Immortals on their surprise pick of Icebox. Ascent was a tighter affair, but Envy secured the series 13-5 (Icebox), 13-11 (Ascent).

TSM stormed through Renegades in convincing fashion. Both Matthew ‘Wardell’ Yu and Taylor ‘Drone’ Johnson ran rampant as they booked their place in the semi-final with a 13-1 (Ascent), 13-5 (Bind) win.

Valorant First Strike NA: Teams & players

While Sentinels are the favored team heading into the event, the competition is high! Below are the teams taking part.

Team Players
Team Envy food, crashies, FNS, mummAy, kaboose
100 Thieves Hiko, nitr0, steel, Asuna, dicey
Sentinels ShahZaM, SicK, sinatraa, zombs, dapr
Renegades retrQ, CP2, Winsum, randyySavage, Berghy
TSM reltuC, hazed, Wardell, Subroza, drone
FaZe Clan corey, ZachaREEE, Marved, babybay, Rawkus
T1 brax, AZK, Skadoodle, DaZeD, Spyder
Immortals Genghsta, jcStani, Jmoh, neptune, ShoT_UP

Valorant First Strike NA: Final Placements

  Team Players
1st TBD $40,000
2nd TBD $20,000
3rd-4th TBD $10,000
5th-8th T1 $5,000
FaZe Clan