Overwatch League Season 2 playoffs: Qualified teams, format, more

Joe O'Brien

Season Two of the Overwatch League is approaching its conclusion, but the ultimate test of the end-of-season playoffs is still to come.

It’s been another grueling season for teams in the Overwatch League, with four stages of regular-season competition – the first of which started on February 14 – finally approaching an end.

With just one weekend of regular-season matches remaining, many teams already have their eye on the $3.5 million playoffs, as most of the teams that will compete in them are already locked in.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Overwatch League Season Two playoffs.

Robert Paul for Blizzard EntertainmentThe Vancouver Titans are the number one seed heading into the playoffs.

Playoffs format and schedule

Of the 20 teams in the league, only six will qualify directly into the playoffs. The top team from the Atlantic and Pacific Divisions take seeds one and two, followed by the next four teams in the overall standings regardless of division.

The teams that finish in 7th to 12th place in the overall standings will qualify for the play-in tournament, a single-elimination bracket from which the top two teams will fill the final spots in the main playoffs.

The playoffs will consist of a double-elimination bracket with best-of-five matches. The play-in tournament takes place on August 30-31, with the playoffs themselves running from September 7-29.

Blizzard EntertainmentReigning Overwatch League champions London Spitfire may yet have to fight through the play-in tournament.

OWL Season 2 Playoffs Qualified teams

While there are still some games to be played in the final week of the season, most of the playoff and play-in teams are already locked in.

The top team from each division is already determined – with the Vancouver Titans taking both the Pacific and the overall first seed, and New York Excelsior securing the top spot from the Atlantic Division.

Behind them, the San Francisco Shock are locked into third place. On the playoff qualification border, London Spitfire and Atlanta Reign fight over the final spot, with Atlanta needing to win both of their final matches to dislodge London.

Meanwhile, Los Angeles Valiant could move into the play-ins by winning either of their last matches, but if they lose both then Chengdu Hunters will retain the final play-in spot.

While many of the seeds could still be subject to change, the following teams are locked into the playoffs or play-in.

Playoff guaranteed

  • Vancouver Titans – 1st seed
  • New York Excelsior – 2nd seed
  • San Francisco Shock – 3rd seed
  • Hangzhou Spark
  • Los Angeles Gladiators

Playoff or Play-in guaranteed

  • London Spitfire
  • Atlanta Reign

Play-in guaranteed

  • Seoul Dynasty
  • Guangzhou Charge
  • Philadelphia Fusion
  • Shanghai Dragons

This article will be updated once the final standings are determined and the seeds locked in.

About The Author

Joe O'Brien was a veteran esports and gaming journalist, with a passion and knowledge for almost every esport, ranging from Call of Duty, to League of Legends, to Overwatch. He joined Dexerto in 2015, as the company's first employee, and helped shape the coverage for years to come.